Skip to main content

WWE RAW 20/8/18 | My Coherent Review.



RAW last night was an okay show that did a decent job of making me look forward to next week. Why you ask? Well, I'm gonna give you what's good, what's ok and what's bad. Let get started. 


WHAT'S GOOD

Triple H's promo

That promo even though the super show down is a glorified house show like the greatest royal rumble, is fantastic. The promo was about how he's not afraid of being the game when it is necessary. Again, the promo was pretty much promoting his match with the Undertaker at the super show down in Melbourne, Australia which I'm looking forward to based on crowd reaction. 

Roman Reigns vs Finn Balor

Image result for professional wrestling
That was a great main event. By the end of that match, Braun comes out and Finn takes that distraction and Roman outta nowhere hits a spear to retain the title. 

After the match, Strowman cashes in his contract and the match hasn't happened because Seth and Dean come out with their shield gear and Braun had some offence but ultimately he was a victim of the shield brutality. I thought this shield rebirth or reunion is soooooo much better than last year's and this is a great cliffhanger for RAW next week.

WHAT'S OK

The opening segment

WWE Photo
Of course in this instance, roman got booed but I thought the RAW after WrestleMania 33 was more severe than this in my opinion. However, he did carry himself pretty well in my opinion. 

He announced that he's gonna face Finn Balor later and then outcomes baron Corbin and he basically wants to face Balor the person, not the demon and then you guess it, outcomes Kurt angle and he made the title match official and told Corbin that he's gonna face Bobby Lashley in the first match of the night and speaking of which......

Bobby Lashley vs "Constable" Baron Corbin 

WWE Photo

The match was ok. During the match, Lashley took some hard bums so shout out to him. The match ends with Bobby Lashley taking the W in this. After the match, Corbin demanded a rematch with Balor but the man and Kurt basically said no. Corbin then said that McMahon is in the building and later that night he's appointed as the new interim general manager. If you read my SummerSlam review (which you can click here), I predicted that this feud is not going to end and I was somewhat right?

Sasha Banks, Bayley and Ember Moon vs The Riott Squad

Image result for professional wrestling
Decent match but it had some excitement during the match. Suplex delivered by ember looked amazing. The riot squad wins with ruby hitting the riott kick and pins Sasha to the count of three. 

Dean Ambrose vs Dolph Ziggler

Image result for professional wrestling
Dean's first singles match in several months but was it good though? No, but it's not horrible either hence why it is on what's ok. This was a showcase match for Ambrose. Seeing how's doing in the ring. During the match, Dean did a fallaway slam which looked pretty impressive and a bit different from we're used to from Dean before the injury. 

Dean wins with the dirty deeds. I have a feeling we're gonna see a tag match between 2/3 of the shield and Dolph with Drew at the next pay per view (No shit, Omar). 

Elias vs Curt Hawkins 

Image result for WWE Raw
Before this, Elias was supposed to have his own concert but gets interrupted by Curt Hawkins and wants to fight Elias and he said no and then curt goes into the ring and wants to face him again and he accepts. This was a squash match. Elias wins with the drift away. I will say this, I am liking Hawkins aggression and his desire to finally get a big victory. 

Authors Of Pain vs Titus Worldwide *Titus Voice*

WWE Photo
This match was longer than it needed to be but Apollo did deliver a beautiful moonsault. Authors of pain wins with the last chapter. 

WHAT'S BAD

Ronda Rousey's Championship Ceremony

WWE Photo
I thought this segment was a waste in my opinion. Pretty much the segment goes like this, Stephanie McMahon talks about how if it wasn't for her, Ronda wouldn't be raw women's championship. 

Ronda walks out and basically says that she ain't Lesnar and she's gonna be a fighting champion. Stephanie then tries to "expose" Ronda for breaking the entire women's division just for Ronda to be the last women standing. 

Ronda then says that she doesn't break people's arms like that, only the ones who deserves to and she breaks Stephanie's arm. Again, this segment was a waste of time in my opinion and isn’t Nikki Bella on Smackdown Live? 

Two singles matches

Image result for Bar
So the revival beat the B team in single matches aye? My god Curtis looked like an idiot in this. A wise man once said, "This was a dumb babyface syndrome". 

My question is, what do think about RAW last night? Let me know in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...