Skip to main content

My Coherent Predictions On: Extreme Rules 2018




Hello my fellow wrestling fans reading this and welcome to my coherent predictions for extreme rules 2018 and to be honest, i'm not excited for this PPV with the exception of two matches. WWE's main roster PPV usually has a meh to terrible build and the show itself end up being enjoyable for the most part. Is extreme rules next on that list? Will find out this sunday but for now let's predict shall we? 



KICK OFF SHOW aka the pre show: New Day vs Sanity in a tables match 


Can finn balor vs baron corbin be on the pre show instead of this match please? Anyways, this match has one or two weeks of build and for that, i have little to no investment in the feud itself. However, this match should be good. Sanity has lost two straight matched and i hope this match is not the case. I'm predicting that this feud is not gonna end yet. 

Winner: Sanity


MAIN SHOW: Finn Balor vs Baron Corbin 

This feud is shitty, lazy and the example of why creative is so lazy with their storylines. I mean the whole story of this feud is pretty much how baron corbin is BIG and TALL, therefore he can beat finn balor because he's short. This is something vince russo would say. All lame jokes aside, baron corbin has a HUGE potential in the WWE and he has been booked like shit. Same goes with finn balor only the difference is finn smiles like when i get a bonus pay. 


Winner: Finn balor


Braun Strowman vs Kevin Owens 

This feud signifies that braun is the heel and owens is the babyface which i don't understand? I mentioned in my RAW review a couple of weeks ago that this feud feels like a parody of the feud between Roman Reigns and Braun Strowman last year. I don't why braun treats owens like that but it should be a decent match nevertheless. 



Winner: Braun Strowman


The Deleters of Worlds (c) vs the B Team

The tag team division on both brands has been meh. It not terrible by all means, it's just creative has nothing for them and it's shows. The pre show match has potential to bring interest in the Smackdown tag team division but for now, i just don't care. This feud is a perfect example. Matt hardy's "WOKEN" character has been dead to me since the ultimate deletion match which is insane considering that i loved this character back when he was in TNA and the whole B team imitating their opponents is getting pretty old within the last couple of weeks. 


Winner: The Deleters of Worlds


The Bludgeon Brothers (c) vs Team Hell NO 



Speaking of the tag team division. Again, i'm not invested in this feud even though i was a fan of team hell no. However, if you watched the opening segment of smackdown this week, they teased that kane might turn on his best friend daniel bryan. The bludgeon brothers needs to win this match even though they had a lackluster run as champions but that has to do with them not having momentum and this is a great way for the bludgeon brothers to beat team hell no to gain some momentum. 


Winner: The Bludgeon Brothers


Carmella (c) vs Asuka

Like i basically mentioned in my smackdown review this week (which you can click here by the way), this feud portrays asuka as the dumb babyface cliche that we're seeing in WWE main roster storylines for the most part. I might be in the minority but i'm liking carmella as a heel. I think she portrays it pretty well in my opinion but this feud however, ain't working. Hoping Asuka and carmella can bounce back from this. 



Winner: Asuka


Alexa Bliss (c) vs Nia Jax in a extreme rules match

Both matches from wrestlemania till backlash has been terrible in my opinion but with the addition of the extreme rules match. I feel like this match would (and i can't believe i'm saying this) be decent and like most of this show, i have no investment in this feud. 

Winner: Alexa Bliss



Jeff hardy vs Shinsuke Nakamura

The best part about this feud is nakamura and hardy's promo and the feud between jeff and nakamura and how it came about makes sense considering that shinsuke lowblowed jeff during their first encounter. This match in my opinion will be a sleeper match. 


Winner: Jeff hardy


Dolph Ziggler (c) vs Seth Rollins in a iron man match

One of two matches i'm looking forward to besides the WWE title match (which i will get there by the way). Back to back great matches and i think this is the ONLY positive thing about brock (remember him?) actually defending the title or wrestling few times a year is that it gives the intercontinental championship scene a sense of importance and prestige which i appreciate. This is gonna be by far match of the night and i'm a sucker for iron man matches. 


Winner: Dolph Ziggler 



Aj Styles (c) vs Rusev 

Another match i'm looking forward to mainly because of the crowd reactions and the dynamic between Styles and Rusev even though we have seen this match before but the difference is that this in a PPV with a passionate crowd in Pittsburgh, PA. However it is going to be predictable with the finish but i certainly don't mind it because predictable is not always a bad thing. 

Winner: Aj styles 



Roman Reigns vs Bobby Lashley

When Micheal Cole says that this match is going to be intense or whatever. I pretend to be Hulk Hogan shouting "blah, blah, blah, blah" when he was feuding with the undertaker back in 2002. Anyways, this feud is basically "I can beat brock" "NO, i can beat brock" "NO, i can beat brock". This match would've benefited with a extreme rules match because the feud is "so personal". The problem with the character of roman reigns right now is that creative are portraying roman as a sympathetic babyface which by the way, is not gonna work no matter how hard they try. I loved roman when he was not gaining sympathy from anyone like his WWE title run back in 2016. You know the phrase "i'm not a bad guy, i'm not a good guy. I'm THE GUY" (i know i made some of you vomit with that quote so i apologize for that). I mean, i am seeing a bit of that roman during this feud but that doesn't mean that the feud itself is any good.  And bobby lashley. He has been lackluster even since his return a couple of months ago and on top of his horrendous feud with sami zayn and you have a recipe of shitting booking. 


Winner: Roman Reigns 




My question is, what are your predictions? Sound off in the comments and follow me on twitter @omar_playa and stay safe smarks. 



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

The 5 News Week Look-Back: Batista's Match With Triple H At Wrestlemania 35 Supposed To Be A Hell In A Cell!?, A Look Back At Eric Bischoff's Role As Executive Director.

Hello, my fellow wrestling fans and welcome to the 5 News Week where I usually report on the 5 major or minor news of the week but I'm not doing that here if you can't tell from the graphic I made (you're welcome, by the way).  But Rather, all throughout December, I'm going to look back at some of the news that came out in 2019. The start of a new decade is going to be upon us in the coming days and that can be exciting especially for the future of the wrestling business as a whole. I hope you guys celebrate the new year's day and of course, drink responsibly.  Fans Frustration Over The Booking Of The Main Roster Women's Division.  I wrote an article earlier this year about why women's wrestling in world wrestling entertainment of the year 2018 was great (which you can click here to read the whole thing).  However, it seems like the year after (2019) was the exact opposite. Now, they did rebound the quality of storytelling in the women's div...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...