Skip to main content

Wrestling And The So Called "'Realism".

 When was the last time you've heard a wrestling fan say, "wrestling is too unrealistic" or "wrestling is beyond believable"? If the answer is no, I wanna live in whatever dystopia you reside in because I envy your ignorance. 

All wittiness aside, it is pretty common to hear pundits and fans say that the medium of their entertainment (pro wrestling, in this case) is too darn unrealistic. 

Now, why is that? That depends on when professional wrestling or the specific style of pro wrestling came into their lives. 

Some might have grown up in the "realistic sport" presentation that territories like the WWWF presented back in the 60s/70s.

Others might have been brought up in the late 90s Attitude era Jerry springer/Vince Russo esque offering (uh, The Undertaker and Kane literally existed by then). 

It's a weird discussion to have since I and the 3 people that read this, can put out the gazillion things in wrestling that are deemed "unrealistic" whether it's wrestling moves, characters or the sheer presentation as a whole. 

Look. This isn't the piece to crap on people that feel this way since wrestling is subjective but rather why I disagree with that notion since this medium is a scripted, collaborative form of entertainment. 

Part of professional wrestling's appeal (in my opinion) is how stories are being told in the most minimalistic of ways. 

And those stories can include aspects of real life. However, pro wrestling shouldn't stop from there just because "oh, that thing actually happened in real life". 

Embracing the scripted nature of the industry leads to more creative autonomy within the medium. 

It also "freshens up" the quality of storytelling in wrestling. I mean, how many times do I have to witness the "can two wrestlers co-exist" cliche (the answer is, "not enough" according to WWE). 

A great case to support this belief is Lucha Underground. 

For those not familiar with the series, the show uses aspects of live wrestling that we're used to as well as scenes that are filmed like your typical TV series or movies that are out there. 

The innovative creative liberties don't end from just presentation alone, it's also the characters and the in-ring offerings too. 

Which is how the cinematic matches became a thing last year and man, I could watch the boneyard match over and over again without the sense of boredom in my body. 

I know this is the part where I list other examples that correlate my argument with "FACTS AND LOGIC" but I'm sure y'all got the memo by now. 

At its core, wrestling, like all art forms, evokes all kinds of emotions out of people and it shouldn't matter whether it came from a "logical" or a "realistic" perspective.

Otherwise, a wrestling version of CinemaSins would probably exist by now (oh, wait, it does exist? Well, sh*t).

If you're f**king entertain then why bother the realism of it? 


Yes, I know. This article is shorter than whatever the hell Metal Gear Solid 5: Ground Zeroes is. But, getting to the point is better than babbling on about a topic, you know, like your uncle in every family visit. Leave your thoughts on the topic below and follow me on Twitter @omartheplayaguy.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...