Skip to main content

WWE NXT 27/4/21 | A Coherent Review.

I didn't review RAW yesterday because it was so bad and yawn-inducing that I actually fell asleep after watching the episode. 

Thankfully, NXT was a different story because it was, for the most part, a decent program. 

The thing that I didn't like about the show was how similar and badly predictable the booking was in some of the matches like distraction finishes and common tropes in order to build a championship match feud.  

Images via WWE.com

Dakota Kai vs Mercedes Martinez. 


Ah yes. The "If you want a spot in the championship match, you have to face the champion's friend/partner" cliche but I can't complain due to the fact that the encounter was decent. 

Like pretty much all of WWE matches, this one ended via a DQ because of Raquel Gonzalez's consistent attack on Martinez. 

Just when a babyface is teased to have a grey area, WWE decided to turn Raquel fully to the dark side. 

That ending rendered Gonzalez's babyface turn a few weeks ago utterly meaningless. 


Ember Moon and Shotzi Blackheart got some flowers from none other than Dexter Lumis and their reaction was hilarious, not gonna lie. 

Cameron Grimes went to a jewellery store and wanted the most expensive watch ever. 

Ted Dibiase told Grimes that the watch Grimes' wearing isn't bad but it isn't a million-dollar watch. 

Grimes continues to be the funniest persona on WWE right now. This scene made me laugh so loud that I actually bothered my neighbours (yes, the place I live in has thin walls). 


In an in-ring segment, The Grizzled Young Veterans were glowing about themselves as a tag team to which Tommaso Ciampa and Timothy Thatcher disrespected the former NXT UK tag team champions. 

A quick brawl ensued and that's how the segment ended. I don't hate it.  

It is a way to build a decent tag team presence in NXT that while Smackdown is trying to do, RAW, however, is pretending that their tag team division doesn't exist (I mean, where in the hell is AJ Styles and Omos?). 


Xia Li cut a promo in Mandarin and according to a translation on the YouTube comments section (I couldn't find the actual translation of that promo anywhere), Li mentioned how a fallen queen will bow down to Tian Sha. 

If you were watching the segment without sound, it seemed like they were doing a cover for Bohemian Rhapsody. 

Isiah Swerve Scott challenged Leon Ruff to a falls count anywhere match on next week's episode. Should be a decent bout. 

Toni Storm vs Zayda Ramier.  


Zayda defeated Storm thanks to, of course, some outside distraction by Zoey Stark. 

I will say this, that shooting star press was the best part about this entire thing. 

Bronson Reed vs Austin Theory. 


Another use of the "If you want a spot in the championship match, you have to face the champion's friend/partner" however, the difference is that Johnny Gargano doesn't want Bronson Reed to challenge him for the belt. 

Indi Hartwell was trying to avoid Dexter Lumis. 

I F**KING HATE YOU, THE WAY! SEE WHAT YOU DID TO INDI HARTWELL? THANKS TO YOUR BULLSH*T MANIPULATING ADVICE, SHE'S NOW AVOIDING DEXTER LUMIS. LET HER BE HAPPY FOR GOD'S SAKE! *rant over*

Bronson Reed took the W with the splash to Austin Theory. 

Imperium vs Drake Maverick And Killian Dain. 


Would you be surprised if I told you that Imperium won this match? 


Pete Dunne called out all of the champions within the NXT brand because he's the most baddest man in NXT (truth). 

Shotzi Blackheart And Ember Moon vs Jessi Kamea And Aliyah.


Turns out, those flowers that were given to women's tag team champions weren't from Dexter Lumis but rather the challengers for the belts in Candice LeRae and Indi Hartwell. 

Because of the beatdown from The Way to the NXT, that match didn't happen. Meh. 

Adam Cole (Bay! Bay!) With a big baller suit, took part in an interview with sports journalist Arash Markazi. 

In it, Cole mentioned how he doesn’t need The Undisputed Era anymore since he can focus on himself and promises that the audience will see the best Adam Cole ever. A decent interview segment. 

A vignette aired about The Diamond Mine with shots of someone training at an MMA gym. This has to be Parker Boudreaux, right? 

Kushida And Msk vs Legado De La Fantasma. 


An awesome main event encounter and by far, the best thing about this episode. The bad guys picked up the victory, pinning Msk’s Nash Carter. 

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos. 

Like: Kushida And Msk vs Legado De La Fantasma, Cameron Grimes jewellery store scene. 

Didn’t like: Questionable booking like Raquel turning heel out of nowhere. 


Sound off in the comments below on what do you think about this episode of NXT? Follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions as well as my Twitter @omartheplayaguy and stay safe smarks. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

WWE RAW 22/2/21 | A Late Coherent Review.

I'm happy to say that I liked this week's edition of Monday Night RAW for the most part which is something I've wanted to say for several months.  Images via WWE.com Miz TV. Special Guest, The WWE Championship Around Miz's Waist.  Yes, my friends. The Miz is the WWE champion like it's 2011 all over again.  Miz was glowing about his WWE title win. The Hurt Business in Bobby Lashley and MVP showed up to tell Miz that they mentioned a deal with him regarding a championship opportunity for Bob Lashley.  Bob Lashley then threatened the guy to give him an answer in an hour and that's how the opening segment ends.  This segment does something that is rare in WWE TV and that is, simple storytelling.  Every single time, WWE has overcomplicated their storytelling and it's quite frustrating at times.  It's nice to see a story playing out that uses a minimalistic storytelling device. An hour later, Braun Strowman got into the mix telling Adam Pearce and Shane McMa...

WWE RAW 1/8/22 | A Coherent Review.

With Triple H making some changes for the overall WWE creative process and the end of the "Jeff Jarrett weekend", I gotta make some changes as well (at least for the site) because this is going to be the last solo RAW review since I'm going to combine both of my thoughts on RAW and Smackdown called "the cohesive WWE perspective".  So yeah, how was RAW? Well, It was one of the best episodes I've seen in a VERY long time. I guess no more, " RAW Is as insane and bad as the current season of Riverdale" jokes, right?  Becky remembered who she was during her encounter with Bianca Belair.  That promo ruled and as a guy that didn't like her heel run all that much since her comeback last year, I gotta say that I'm glad she's going back babyface due to the fact that heel Bex was so vanilla for my liking.  After Bianca showed some respect to the man, the new trio known as Io Sky, Dakota Kai and Bayley attacked Becky's injured shoulder.  They a...