Skip to main content

AEW Dynamite 14/4/21 | A Coherent Review.

It is so refreshing that I get to review one show in a day instead of two shows in a day. 

The latest edition of AEW Dynamite was pretty good. As usual, the in-ring work is top-notch. 

Before AEW aired its opening intro, The Jackson brothers reminded everyone that a new and improved Young Bucks are coming due to the fact that they're tired of letting people walk all over them. 

A good promo actually. Didn't know Young Bucks are such good bad guys based on that dialogue alone. 

Also, something that happened backstage, MJF offered Mike Tyson a check because MJF believes to keep his friends close but his enemies closer (MJF has ACTUAL FRIENDS!? Who knew?). 

But, Tyson tore that check to pieces. 

The Young Bucks vs Death Triangle In Pac And Rey Fenix For The AEW World Tag Team Championship. 

You got folks on Twitter over analysing whether The Young Bucks' Nike shoes are fake or not (aka funny a** content). 

During the match, Pac and Fenix delivered a series of kicks on Nick Jackson which looked f**king cool. 

Pac nailed a beautiful blue thunder bomb on Matt Jackson to a near fall. 

This amazing match concluded with The Young Bucks ripping off Rey Fenix's mask which led to a double superkick and that's how The Young Bucks retained the AEW tag belts. 

AEW gave those guys some TIIIIIIIME! What a fantastic opening contest. This match notified me that Rey Fenix is legit that damn good on the squared circle. 


In an interview with Alex Marvez, Hangman Page completely dodged the question regarding The Young Bucks' new heel attitude. My man Page was like, "f**k them bucks". 

In another interview with Marvez, Chris Jericho and Mike Tyson told a story of how they've united each other to take out The Pinnacle. It was aight. 

Jade Cargill vs Red Velvet. 

Red Velvet as well as Jade Cargill, has been growing on me bit by bit every time I see them in the ring wrestling. We love seeing improvements.

The match was a bit short but I enjoyed it. Jade Cargill wins. 

Britt Baker explained to Tony Schiavone that she deserves to rank higher in the rankings because she has more wins than Red Velvet. 

Talk that sh*t, Doctor! 

Anthony Ogogo vs Local Competitor. 

With one punch, Ogogo won this match. Well, damn. 

Miro pretty much told the locker room in a promo to stay out of his way. Honestly, Miro splitting up with Kip Sabian is the best thing to happen to Miro. 

Now, the dude can focus on being portrayed as a Bulgarian beat.

Dax Harwood vs Chris Jericho. 

A solid encounter. Despite some outside shenanigans from The Inner Circle and The Pinnacle, Jericho nailed the Judas Effect to win the match. 

Oh, and Mike Tyson is now part of The Inner Circle which is cool, I guess. 


Kenny Omega's crew wanted to tell the world that they are that damn good. Don Callis super kicking the camera person made me laugh for some odd reason. 

Kris Statlander vs Amber Nova.

An okay match. Statlander defeated Amber Nova with the cradle tombstone.  

Christian Cage was brutally attacked by Powerhouse Will Hobbs because Christian wasn't going to join Taz's crew. 

Cage is facing Hobbs next week and I could not be more excited about it. It should be a banger of a bout. 

Darby Allin vs Matt Hardy For The TNT Championship In A No Disqualifications Match. 

Both guys beat the holy HELL out of each other. This was a crazy yet enjoyable match. 

@Ceehawk's favourite pro wrestler, Sting, saved Darby from a further beatdown by The Butcher, The Blade and Private Party.

Darby came out of that brutal bout still the TNT champion.  

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos. 

Like: Death Triangle vs The Young Bucks, The Young Bucks' new heel persona, Jade Cargill vs Red Velvet, Darby Allin vs Matt Hardy. 

Didn't like: Nothing really. 

Sound off in the comments below on what do you think about this episode of AEW Dynamite? Follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions as well as my Twitter @omartheplayaguy and stay safe smarks. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

WWE RAW 22/2/21 | A Late Coherent Review.

I'm happy to say that I liked this week's edition of Monday Night RAW for the most part which is something I've wanted to say for several months.  Images via WWE.com Miz TV. Special Guest, The WWE Championship Around Miz's Waist.  Yes, my friends. The Miz is the WWE champion like it's 2011 all over again.  Miz was glowing about his WWE title win. The Hurt Business in Bobby Lashley and MVP showed up to tell Miz that they mentioned a deal with him regarding a championship opportunity for Bob Lashley.  Bob Lashley then threatened the guy to give him an answer in an hour and that's how the opening segment ends.  This segment does something that is rare in WWE TV and that is, simple storytelling.  Every single time, WWE has overcomplicated their storytelling and it's quite frustrating at times.  It's nice to see a story playing out that uses a minimalistic storytelling device. An hour later, Braun Strowman got into the mix telling Adam Pearce and Shane McMa...

WWE RAW 1/8/22 | A Coherent Review.

With Triple H making some changes for the overall WWE creative process and the end of the "Jeff Jarrett weekend", I gotta make some changes as well (at least for the site) because this is going to be the last solo RAW review since I'm going to combine both of my thoughts on RAW and Smackdown called "the cohesive WWE perspective".  So yeah, how was RAW? Well, It was one of the best episodes I've seen in a VERY long time. I guess no more, " RAW Is as insane and bad as the current season of Riverdale" jokes, right?  Becky remembered who she was during her encounter with Bianca Belair.  That promo ruled and as a guy that didn't like her heel run all that much since her comeback last year, I gotta say that I'm glad she's going back babyface due to the fact that heel Bex was so vanilla for my liking.  After Bianca showed some respect to the man, the new trio known as Io Sky, Dakota Kai and Bayley attacked Becky's injured shoulder.  They a...