Skip to main content

The 5 News Week: Yet Another Update Regarding NXT Moving To Tuesdays.

Hello, my fellow wrestling fans and welcome to the 5 news week. The post where I report 5 major or minor news of the week that I don't have time to do it separately. Without further ado, here are the 5 news week.  

Some Images via wwe.com

Leyla Hirsh Signed With AEW All The Way Back In October?

Leyla Hirsh is an extraordinary talent that I assumed was signed recently based on the official announcement from the man with a great Bernie Sanders impression, Tony Khan. 

However, in a virtual signing for High Spots Wrestling Network, Hirsh revealed that she was signed with the elite brand all the way back in October (shout out to Andrew Thompson of Post Wrestling for the quotes):

"I don’t even know if I’m allowed to say any of this but, my first week on Wednesday night, I faced [Hikaru] Shida [on AEW Dark] and that was great and then there was an incident with — there was a match that was supposed to happen with the girls and it didn’t because there was an injury and then they called me and they were like, ‘Leyla, we need you to wrestle Serena Deeb.’ So me and her literally only had 20 minutes to put the match together. 

Went out there, did it and then when I got backstage, Kenny Omega put his arm around me and said to me, ‘I hope I’m not putting too much pressure on you’ but he was like, ‘What’s your availability? 

We would like for you to work here’ and then Christopher Daniels pulled me aside and gave me the contract right there and then.

So surreal but my first week there, I ended up getting the contract. So, it was wild.

I don’t know [why it took AEW this long to announce it]. Just timing. Yeah, just certain things but it happens, so, grateful for it."

Leyla has a point at the end there. Why did AEW take 5 long months to announce the signing? 

I have no idea but I'm glad she has signed with a major wrestling company like all elite wrestling. 

RAW And Smackdown Moving Out Of The Tropicana Field!?

If you've read last week's article of this very series, then you'll know that WWE is looking for arenas to host the "award-winning" Thunderdome since the Tampa Bay Rays are hosting a baseball game on the 9th of April. 

And as of a few days back, Jon Alba took to Twitter to update the story on WWE moving RAW and Smackdown out of Tropicana Field:

       

I mean, I couldn't tell the difference between the time they were on the Amway Centre and Tropicana field so…….. 

Yet Another Update Regarding NXT Moving To Tuesdays. 

We have heard this story of NXT moving to Tuesday nights going back to around Septemberish. 

Whether the news is getting tiresome or not is a different question but PWInsider and Mikey Johnson has his usual scoop regarding this story, stating:

"Several WWE sources confirmed today that the first WWE NXT episode coming out of Wrestlemania 37 weekend is currently scheduled to be held and broadcast on Tuesday 4/13.

The move would separate NXT and AEW, allowing each series to stand on their own accord with viewers.  NXT shifting to Tuesday would also allow for heavy promotion from the previous evening's episode of Monday Night Raw."

It looks like my weekly recap for NXT and AEW Dynamite, The Coherent Wrestling Wednesdays is coming to an end and I'll have an announcement on my Facebook page once WWE confirms the move (follow the Facebook page here). 

WWE Filed A Trademark "Jessi Kamea". 

A piece of news that isn't a shocker to all of you, WWE has filed a trademark of "Jessi Kamea" on March 15th. 

The description of the trademark reads (from Wrestling Inc):

“G & S: Entertainment services, namely, wrestling exhibitions and performances by a professional wrestler and entertainer rendered live and through broadcast media including television and radio, and via the internet or commercial online service; providing wrestling news and information via a global computer network; providing information in the fields of sports and entertainment via an online community portal; providing a website in the field of sports entertainment information; fan club services, namely, organizing sporting events in the field of wrestling for wrestling fan club members; organizing social entertainment events for entertainment purposes for wrestling fan club members; providing online newsletters in the fields of sports entertainment; online journals, namely blogs, in the field of sports entertainment.” 

Quick Thoughts On Smackdown. 

I haven't written a review for the latest episode of Smackdown because….. life. 

Since the news was a bit slow this past week, I decided to briefly talk about Smackdown and the episode was fine. 

I will say, It was slightly better than the few weeks of disappointment. 

Nia Jax is my least favourite wrestler and yet, she has incredible chemistry with two people. Ronda Rousey and Sasha Banks. 

That should honestly tell you how good Rousey and Banks are as performers because as y'all know, a good Jax match is a rarity. 

What do you think about the news I just reported and follow me on the tweets @omartheplayaguy? Anyways, stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...