Skip to main content

WWE Smackdown 22/2/20 | My Coherent Review.

Friday is the 6th day of the week (OMG, really?) and while it is a start to a hopefully fun and fulfilled weekend, Friday is also the day that Smackdown airs which is a wrestling program that is a current face of the word "mediocrity." 

This episode was no exception to the word "mediocrity" and because of that, I'm not going to talk about everything that happened but rather a few noteworthy things to talk about. 

I will give some credit to the blue brand for at least progressing storylines like the women's title scene and Otis' love story. Now, on with the short review. 

The Bella Twins' Hall Of Fame Class Of 2020 Is Now Made Official. 

Image result for bella twins hall of fame

Batman v Superman: Dawn Of Justice's overall fan divisiveness is nothing compared to this announcement and even the rumours of them going into the hall of fame. Enough about them, how do I feel about it? 

Honestly, neutral. For years, I've not been this invested as to who goes in the hall of fame as much as the rest. It's something that I don't get worked up about. 

Would it be great if one of my favourite performers gets a hall of fame induction? Heck yes but I don't get angry when a superstar I'm not a fan of, does get the induction instead. 

WWE Photo

One of the things that I appreciate about The Bella Twins is that they've found a way to adapt with the times whether it was the PG Divas Era where every women's wrestler got minimum 3 minutes of screen time in their early run or when WWE started the "women's revolution" or the "women's evolution" (make up your damn mind) and wrestled in 10 or 20-minute matches in their later run.

It is a shame though that Brie Bella's last few months with the company terms of in-ring work wasn't good but looking back, Brie Bella tried her best to entertain and it wasn't executed properly, unfortunately. 

Their "twin magic" gimmick made them stand out amongst the rest of the division at that time especially as the antagonists when they would use it to you guessed it, win matches. In the world of only "thumbs up" or "thumbs down", I'm giving it a thumbs up but I'm not enthusiastic as the Bella Army are. 

Goldberg Meets The Fiend In Person. 

WWE Photo

This entire build for the Universal championship match at Super showdown was short and lacklustre at the same time. I will say that I'm very curious as to how this match will be constructed. 

Who do I think wins this one? I'm going with The Fiend but I wouldn't be surprised if Bill wins this match. If Goldberg wins which would've been a mistake, in my opinion, I would be lying if a Goldberg vs Roman Reigns match is not at least, intriguing to me. 

Bayley vs Naomi At Super Showdown Is Happening. 


The Naomi vs Carmella match wasn't mind-blowing but I was surprised that Naomi was going to face Bayley so soon given that I thought WWE was saving that match for Wrestlemania 36. 

I don't think that a triple threat match between Carmella, Naomi and Bayley would happen as another women's match over at the yellow brand for the NXT women's championship match between Charlotte, Rhea Ripley and Bianca Belair is becoming more of a possibility. 

Will have to wait and see where the SmackDown side of the women's division brings to Wrestlemania. 


That is all folks. Sound off in the comments below on what do you think about this week's episode of Friday Night Smackdown? Follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions and stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

WWE RAW 22/2/21 | A Late Coherent Review.

I'm happy to say that I liked this week's edition of Monday Night RAW for the most part which is something I've wanted to say for several months.  Images via WWE.com Miz TV. Special Guest, The WWE Championship Around Miz's Waist.  Yes, my friends. The Miz is the WWE champion like it's 2011 all over again.  Miz was glowing about his WWE title win. The Hurt Business in Bobby Lashley and MVP showed up to tell Miz that they mentioned a deal with him regarding a championship opportunity for Bob Lashley.  Bob Lashley then threatened the guy to give him an answer in an hour and that's how the opening segment ends.  This segment does something that is rare in WWE TV and that is, simple storytelling.  Every single time, WWE has overcomplicated their storytelling and it's quite frustrating at times.  It's nice to see a story playing out that uses a minimalistic storytelling device. An hour later, Braun Strowman got into the mix telling Adam Pearce and Shane McMa...

WWE RAW 1/8/22 | A Coherent Review.

With Triple H making some changes for the overall WWE creative process and the end of the "Jeff Jarrett weekend", I gotta make some changes as well (at least for the site) because this is going to be the last solo RAW review since I'm going to combine both of my thoughts on RAW and Smackdown called "the cohesive WWE perspective".  So yeah, how was RAW? Well, It was one of the best episodes I've seen in a VERY long time. I guess no more, " RAW Is as insane and bad as the current season of Riverdale" jokes, right?  Becky remembered who she was during her encounter with Bianca Belair.  That promo ruled and as a guy that didn't like her heel run all that much since her comeback last year, I gotta say that I'm glad she's going back babyface due to the fact that heel Bex was so vanilla for my liking.  After Bianca showed some respect to the man, the new trio known as Io Sky, Dakota Kai and Bayley attacked Becky's injured shoulder.  They a...