Skip to main content

My Coherent Wrestling Wednesdays: Cody Rhodes vs Wardlow In A Steel Cage, Bianca Belair Calling Out Charlotte Flair.

WWE Photo
For the second week in a row, All Elite Wrestling has knocked it out of the park in their premier pro wrestling show while NXT is cooling off the steam creatively that is Takeover: Portland. Hopefully, the yellow brand picks back up next week. 

NXT     

Highlights. 

Broserweights vs Oney Lorcan And Danny Burch. 

WWE Photo

That dialogue when Riddle said that they partied so hard in Portland that Pete Dunne failed the wellness policy was hilarious. The champions are immediately getting back to work after that great performance this past Sunday. 

Also, this is the return of Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan so it's great to see those guys. The champions are still strong thanks to that knee strike from Riddle to win this match. A good match indeed. 

Chelsea Green vs Kayden Carter. 

WWE Photo

The reason why I put this in my highlights is not because of the match but rather Bianca Belair showing up and challenging Charlotte Flair saying that she'll "whoop that ass". Green wins with the unprettier. 

I like Chelsea Green and I'm hoping she's going to be utilized to her highest potential and matches like this ain't it.  

Some Other Things That Happened. 

WWE Photo
Bask In His Glory.

The Undisputed Era In Support For Roderick Strong In His Upcoming Match With Velveteen Dream - In the opening segment, Adam Cole talked about his win last Sunday (not mentioning or taking credit for Johnny Gargano because he's a heel duh?). 

After Velveteen Dream showed up via a background voice over, Strong said that he's basically going to destroy the Dream. A short but decent opening act. 

Lio Rush vs Jordan Devlin For The NXT Cruiserweight Championship - A decent encounter. The champ retains with the Devlin slide which a quick back suplex. 

Tommaso Ciampa Addresses What Happened To Him At Portland - Tommaso Ciampa came out to the ring and cut a promo about Ciampa being so focused on getting goldie back that he hasn't focused his own surrounding. He isn't asking "Why Johnny? Why" because he knows why. 

Austin Theory was standing there and he attacked the guy barely as Austin was assaulted by Ciampa relentlessly. Will see how Gargano responds. 

The Grizzled Young Veterans vs Raul Mendoza And Joaquin Wilde - Young Veterans wins with a pop-up code-breaker. Zack Gibson cut a short promo saying that the Grizzled Young Veterans are here to Takeover NXT (nice play with words, Zack). 

Keith Lee vs Kona Reeves - Lee wins in a one-sided match. But then, Dominic Djakovic came out to say that he's not done with the North American championship. Lee replied saying that they can fight forever. I'm all for it. 

Velveteen Dream vs Roderick Strong- Dream's first match since his encounter with Roderick Strong actually. 

This match was aight. Velveteen Dream wins with the Dream valley driver to which The Undisputed Era attacked him and that's how the show ended. 

AEW 

Highlights. 

A Battle Royal To Determine The Number One Contenders For The AEW World Tag Team Championship. 


SCU in Frank Kazarian and Scorpio Sky were eliminated thanks to The Dark Order and their promo distracted Sky and Kazarian. 

One of the BB's aka The Butcher and The Blade eliminated Nick Jackson of the Young Bucks which means that Nick Jackson has to represent his team by himself. 

Sammy Guevara and pretty much the rest of the teams took out all two members of the Jurassic Express. Orange Cassidy got dick kicked by The Bunny after Cassidy tried to prevent elimination from Best Friends once again given that he successfully did it once. 

It is now Matt Jackson against Santana and Ortiz and he won the whole thing by eliminating both guys. This is without exaggeration, one of the best Battle Royal matches I've ever seen. 

The Young Bucks was my pick to win this match given that it brings a very different dynamic in this title match and I'm surprised that they pulled out the victory for Matt and Nick Jackson. 

Jon Moxley vs Jeff Cobb. 


I didn't know that Cobb was Matanza Cueto in Lucha Underground. You learn something new every day. 

Moxley wins with a roll-up to which the Inner Circle assaults Mox from behind but Jon got some help from the Natural, Dustin Rhodes and the returning Darby Allin. 

It is cool to see Allin back and that pop he got from the Atlanta crowd alone is worthy of being called a highlight. 

Kenny Omega And Hangman Page vs The Lucha Brothers For The AEW World Tag Team Championship. 


During the match, Pentagon jr with the help of Rey Fenix legs, did a beautiful looking senton on Kenny Omega while Omega was laying down on the bottom turnbuckle. 

Fenix with that height, delivered a hurricanrana to Omega that led to a moonsault from Hangman Page to Pentagon. 

Page accidentally clotheslined Omega and Pentagon hit a modified death valley driver of some sort and I thought this was it but Omega kicked out. 


The match concluded when Omega And Page did a V-Trigger clothesline combination on Fenix to retain the tag belts.  A fantastic tag team title match. 

I'm waiting for Revolution to see how The Young Bucks and the tag champs perform (spoilers, it's gonna be great). 

Cody vs Wardlow In A Steel Cage. 


Oh. My. God. That steel cage is big and I mean, BIG. That cage made WWE's version look like a tall cheap toy you would buy in a store or something. 

Cody was bleeding profusely throughout the majority of this match even carrying the big man with a suplex. Arn Anderson had the cage door in his possession and MJF shouted at him to hit Cody with it but instead he hit MJF. 

The match ended with Cody pulling out a Kurt Angle from the 2000s by hitting a moonsault from the top of the cage on to somebody and in this case, it was on to Wardlow and Cody takes the W with pride. 

Storytelling at its finest. This build so far has been fantastic. From that end segment last week to now, this epic bout. Shout out to everybody involved. 

Some Other Things That Happened. 

Kris Stadtlander vs Shanna -  This was okay. Stadtlander wins with a packaged piledriver. Moments after the match was over, Nyla Rose cut a promo about how she's the queen in her hive (a solid promo). 

Kris Stadtlander showed up and pointed towards the AEW women's champion and Big Swole entered the stage as well. 

That women's title belt is so tiny. Can they get a bigger version of that belt, please? 


The question is, what are some of the highlights on both episodes in your opinion? Let me know in the comments below and follow me on Twitter @omartheplayaguy. Anyways, stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

WWE RAW 22/2/21 | A Late Coherent Review.

I'm happy to say that I liked this week's edition of Monday Night RAW for the most part which is something I've wanted to say for several months.  Images via WWE.com Miz TV. Special Guest, The WWE Championship Around Miz's Waist.  Yes, my friends. The Miz is the WWE champion like it's 2011 all over again.  Miz was glowing about his WWE title win. The Hurt Business in Bobby Lashley and MVP showed up to tell Miz that they mentioned a deal with him regarding a championship opportunity for Bob Lashley.  Bob Lashley then threatened the guy to give him an answer in an hour and that's how the opening segment ends.  This segment does something that is rare in WWE TV and that is, simple storytelling.  Every single time, WWE has overcomplicated their storytelling and it's quite frustrating at times.  It's nice to see a story playing out that uses a minimalistic storytelling device. An hour later, Braun Strowman got into the mix telling Adam Pearce and Shane McMa...

WWE RAW 1/8/22 | A Coherent Review.

With Triple H making some changes for the overall WWE creative process and the end of the "Jeff Jarrett weekend", I gotta make some changes as well (at least for the site) because this is going to be the last solo RAW review since I'm going to combine both of my thoughts on RAW and Smackdown called "the cohesive WWE perspective".  So yeah, how was RAW? Well, It was one of the best episodes I've seen in a VERY long time. I guess no more, " RAW Is as insane and bad as the current season of Riverdale" jokes, right?  Becky remembered who she was during her encounter with Bianca Belair.  That promo ruled and as a guy that didn't like her heel run all that much since her comeback last year, I gotta say that I'm glad she's going back babyface due to the fact that heel Bex was so vanilla for my liking.  After Bianca showed some respect to the man, the new trio known as Io Sky, Dakota Kai and Bayley attacked Becky's injured shoulder.  They a...