Skip to main content

My Late Coherent Wrestling Wednesdays: Worlds Collide 2020 Recap, AEW Bash At The Beach And Rock And Wrestling Rager Recap (Mostly).

Image result for worlds collide 2020 pictures
If you can't tell from the headline above, this is a late Coherent Wrestling Wednesdays post as I missed over 3 weeks of television on both NXT and AEW Dynamite due to a project I was working on that has nothing to do with this site that I apparently said on Twitter was "personal issues" for some odd reason (and yes, it is still in "pre-production" to use movie lingo). 

There will be an actual "My Coherent Wrestling Wednesdays" review tomorrow talking about the current episodes of both NXT TV and AEW Dynamite but for now, here are my Late Coherent Wrestling Wednesdays. 

NXT       

A Worlds Collide 2020 Recap. 

WWE Photo
Since the NXT shows were building towards this show, I might as well talk about it. This was a fun 2 and a half hours of pro wrestling. 

The opening match with Balor and Dragunov was solid. The fatal four-way cruiserweight championship match was outstanding. Undisputed Era vs Imperium and the NXT Championship match between Rhea Ripley and Toni Storm were aight. 

That DIY vs Mustache Mountain match reminded me why I freaking love this artform. It hit all the right beats from humour to nostalgia to friendships and loyal sacrifices for one another. This is a match that everyone should go out of their way to watch if you haven't already. Now, I also want to mention something and that is…… 

NXT Women's championship Name Change. 

Image result for nxt women's champion
This piece of news was divisive among wrestling fans. Some say that it legitimates the women's division while others say that it's confusing and "gender pandering". I, however, like this decision. 

I've always thought of the notion that "what if the women's championship in WWE was called something different like the world title" and in this era of the women's revolution, I'm liking that idea more and more. 

I would agree on the other side of the argument that it is confusing especially for a first time viewer of the product asking a fan they know personally "why are they 2 titles named the NXT championship?". Being as it may, I don't mind the choice WWE has made but I was they were some distinction you know? 

AEW. 

Bash At The Beach And Rock And Wrestling Rager Recap (Mostly). 


I've watched 4 hours of TV and honestly, I prefer the Rager episode better as a whole but there was a good promo cut by Cody himself at that Bash Of The Beach episode and his interaction with MJF a week later was decent. 

The few weeks of AEW television I've missed also included a women's tag match that made that Lacey Evans and Charlotte Flair match last year a God damn classic but was followed by a promo from Britt Baker a mere week later that was bad. 

You could hear from the dialogue Baker's spitting out that she's uncomfortable in that role even though that turn to the dark side was the right move. The way it ended with JR saying "we heard enough, we heard enough. Will take a break" while Baker was still speaking did not elevate her new bad persona either. Hopefully, in tonight's episode, she'll recover from that. 

Image result for aew rock and wrestling rager

The tag team scene in all elite wrestling is the company's brightest spots as Hangman Page teamed up with fellow elite partner Kenny Omega to take on the AEW world tag team champions SCU after the elite guys won their number one contender's spot the week before and it was a good tag team bout. Page and Omega capture the gold with a clothesline from Page to Frank Kazarian. 

Another man with the last name Page that I was impressed by is Diamond Dallas Page who by the way, competed in a 6 man tag match teaming with Dusty Rhodes and QT Marshall to face two of the Butcher, Blade and Bunny (or as I like to call them, the BBB) and MJF. 

Chris Jericho damaged one of Jon Moxley's eyes even though Moxley won the number one contender's match against PAC on the Rager episode to face Le Champion (by the way, how good was that PAC vs Darby Allin match at the Bash of the beach show like my goodness). I still think that Jericho is keeping the gold but will find out on February 29th. 


That is all folks. Like I said, keep a lookout for the latest edition of "My Coherent Wrestling Wednesdays" tomorrow and I might post an essay on Friday. Anyways, let me know what you think about AEW Dyanomite and NXT from the past few weeks and stay safe smarks. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...