Skip to main content

Should Wrestling Bloggers Quit Writing About Wrestling?

person near clear glass window pane and window blinds low-light photography
It's been 5 months since I wrote a piece so I apologize for that but lately, I've seen a few wrestling bloggers say that they thought of leaving the wrestling blogging world behind and I wanna address that because it's an important topic we as a community need to talk about. 

I've been blogging about professional wrestling (more specifically WWE because I'm a WWE shill) for a year and a half now and one of the reasons why I do what I do on this site is that it's my form of mental therapy for me and I will always cherish that. However, not every blogger feels this way and thanks to my quote "influence", I've reached out to some of them and here are the common things I've got from them. 

#1 "I'm not good enough because my work doesn't get much visitors" 


I don't know if they've been writing for 2 years, 3 years but that sounds like somebody that has been blogging for that long. Anyways, if you do I get it. I really get it given that you've worked so damn hard on putting out written content for years and still get about 20 viewers, 10 viewers per post, however, think about this. 

If you got 5 to 10 viewers per post then it's like a group of friends reading your post and if your site has 20 visitors per post then it's like an entire classroom that clicked so fast just to find out your thoughts on a show. 

My solution to this is instead of wanting for more visitors, cherish the viewers that reads your stuff on a regular basis and develop great relationships with them because what you're doing is you're building a community for fans to talk about a niche they love that you composed from the beginning and that's something to be extremely proud of honestly. 

#2 The hate is too much. 


Oh, I feel you on that one. Interacting with like minded people is great but it's not without encountering some piece of human faeces. The hate is tough out here in these blogging streets and whenever you make a single typo, somebody most likely will use the * symbol to correct which can be a good thing depending on how he or she says it but it can also be a bad thing. 

I've learned from a very young age that people will have a reason as to why they don't like you (sometimes warranted, other times odd and just plain hateful) and you're probably replying this with "Well, it's easy for you". 

In actuality, no it isn't. I'm a human being and sometimes when I'm not in a good mood, I read a terrible comment that either boils my mind with a lot of anger or feel sorry for myself but at least I'm trying and I encourage you guys to do the same. 

#3: Writer's block.


I know you read the title like "hallelujer" but it is one of the most frustrating things as a writer and the reason why is because you're simply stuck not knowing what to write next. The thing that works for me is taking a break. 

Giving yourself some time to relax heals your frustrations and it grows your desire to write when ready. Your writing may not be great but one thing's certain is that you actually wrote something. A very wise person once said:

"The worst thing you write is better than the best thing you didn't write.”


You're probably reading the headline like" why didn't you answer the question? Why are you dodging answers like you're a politician?" Should you quit writing or blogging about wrestling?

It really depends on your life situation. If you don't feel the passion then it could be the best decision but I feel like this is a situation where you should really think hard about and see if it's the right choice or not. 

The real question is, have you or have you not thought of quitting blogging and if so, why that is? Put any of those thoughts in the comments below. Follow me on Twitter @omartheplayaguy and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

The 5 News Week Look-Back: Batista's Match With Triple H At Wrestlemania 35 Supposed To Be A Hell In A Cell!?, A Look Back At Eric Bischoff's Role As Executive Director.

Hello, my fellow wrestling fans and welcome to the 5 News Week where I usually report on the 5 major or minor news of the week but I'm not doing that here if you can't tell from the graphic I made (you're welcome, by the way).  But Rather, all throughout December, I'm going to look back at some of the news that came out in 2019. The start of a new decade is going to be upon us in the coming days and that can be exciting especially for the future of the wrestling business as a whole. I hope you guys celebrate the new year's day and of course, drink responsibly.  Fans Frustration Over The Booking Of The Main Roster Women's Division.  I wrote an article earlier this year about why women's wrestling in world wrestling entertainment of the year 2018 was great (which you can click here to read the whole thing).  However, it seems like the year after (2019) was the exact opposite. Now, they did rebound the quality of storytelling in the women's div...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...