Skip to main content

WWE RAW 15/7/19 | My Coherent Review.

I really don't have much to say about this show because it was decent overall. It was watchable but not as enjoyable as I was hoping it would be. 

Paul Heyman Delivered a Spoiler Alright And That's Brock Lesnar Becoming Champion. 

The Advocate is amazed that people didn̢۪t believe him when he told the WWE Universe that Brock would be cashing in his contract.
Heyman said that we (in Brock and Heyman) told them so and the crowd wasn't having it with a crap ton of boos. Heyman described the 10 man all-star Battle Royal and the winner will face Brock Lesnar at SummerSlam and lose to the Beast Incarnate.

Heyman also said that facing Brock is a huge risk and all of the participants are Brock's bitches. A pretty good way to open the show. Pauly is great on the microphone as usual.

Ricochet and The Usos vs Robert Roode and The Revival.

WWE Photo
Like I said in my reviews in the past weeks, what's with WWE and 2 out of 3 falls matches? But, the match was pretty decent though. Ricochet leading his team to victory with the 630 splash and then, The Club came out and Ricochet immediately dive onto AJ Styles and The Usos gave him some back up with a series of superkicks to Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson. 

WWE Photo
After the Usos got shattered with the Shatter machine from The Revival, AJ Styles came outta nowhere and delivered Ricochet with the phenomenal forearm and a magic killer from Anderson and Gallows for good measure. 

The chaos ensued, in the end, was enjoyable. Man, Ricochet needs some serious backup. Maybe it could be The Usos but they're not finished with The Revival. 

The Viking Raiders vs Local Jobbers. 

WWE Photo

Viking Raiders won the match with *sigh* The Viking Experience. That is all. 

Drew McIntyre vs Cedric Alexander. 

WWE Photo
This match came about after Drew was looking for Cedric Alexander because Cedric disguised himself as Gary Garbutt and Cedric basically said that he did it for an opportunity to be in the ring. 

Cedric surprisingly got some offence and surprisingly got an upset win with a roll-up. I like this. More opportunities for a talented guy like Cedric Alexander? Why not? 

Finn Balor vs Samoa Joe. 

WWE Photo
Before the match, both of those guys cut a backstage promo telling the world what's gonna happen in this match. The match ended quickly with a crucifix pin from Samoa Joe and after Finn Balor puts Samoa Joe out of the ring, the lights went down and Bray Wyatt came out and hits Sister Abigail. 

WWE Photo
Gotta shout out the cinematography of this moment. That was amazing but I remember their feud almost 2 years ago and I couldn't wait for that to end. Hoping that feud will be better written this time around. 

Drake Maverick and his wife were checking on the hotel and left the reception area until R Truth came to that area and asked the cashier where's "Hornswoggle"? The cashier didn't know what he meant to which Truth shoved him some money and the cashier was more than happy to help. Meh. 

Mike Kanellis vs Zack Ryder.  

WWE PhotoMike lost to Zack Ryder quicker that The Rock's match with Rowan at Wrestlemania 32. Then, his wife told him that she has a better chance of winning this match than her husband. Not feeling this storyline guys. 

The Club vs The Lucha House Party. 

WWE Photo
This was a solid match. The Luchadores had so many offences until AJ puts on the calf crusher in Kalisto, won the match and he didn't let go of the hold. Oh, and Ricochet was beating up Styles during the match. 

Seth Rollins was asked by Sarah Scribier about his task in hand. Seth answered the question, saying that he's gonna do whatever it takes to get the job done and that's winning the battle royal. 

Naomi vs Natalya vs Alexa Bliss vs Carmella. Winner Faces Becky Lynch For the RAW Women's championship. 

WWE Photo
Alexa Bliss being on this match doesn't make any sense considering that she just lost at Extreme Rules. Yes, she wasn't pinned but she lost a championship match nevertheless. 

I actually forgot that this match was an elimination match after Carmella was eliminated by Alexa Bliss with a roll-up. Naomi at one point, delivered a vicious neckbreaker to Natalya on the outside. Naomi was eliminated by Natalya.

WWE Photo

Then, The crowd was chanting "you suck clap, clap," to Alexa and they should be happy because The Queen Of Hearts won the match with the sharpshooter. 

After the match, Becky Lynch went to the ring and told Natalya that a friend is not what she's looking for at SummerSlam and she's a good lover. Nattie replied by saying that she must be not a good lover then "BITCH". That entire interaction was very good. That side of Nattie is something I wanna see more of. 

Miz TV. Special Guest, Dolph Ziggler. 

The Showoff recalls that he and Miz goes way back, but he̢۪s on Raw to see if the rumors are true.
Dolph Ziggler said that Miz doesn't care about anybody but himself and he's power-hungry like his wife and Miz slapped the crap out of him. That was random like really random. 

Drake Maverick was about to have sex with his wife and his the title on his waist until the room service showed up but it was the referee disguised as room service. Maverick started to freak out and after a second pinfall from Truth, he got the "European TV" championship. 

Drake Maverick was the best part about this segment and I was surprised that Drake wore underwear given that I thought the title covered his "package". By the way, that joke Corey Graves made about Drake utilized his "small package' was laugh out loud funny. 

The 10 Man All-Star Battle Royal. Winner Faces The Universal Champion At SummerSlam. 

WWE Photo
This battle Royal wasn't extraordinary, wasn't an "all-star" classic but it was aight. Bobby Lashley eliminated Cesaro, then got eliminated by Braun Strowman. After Braun ate a Big Ending from Big E, E was eliminated by Sami Zayn and immediately Zayn was eliminated by Randy Orton. 

Mysterio was eliminated by Baron Corbin until Corbin got the elimination from Seth Rollins. Rollins then dumped Reigns and Strowman over the top rope and Randy threw Seth over that tope rope but Seth hung on with that rope. 

WWE Photo

Back and forth between those two later and Seth eliminated Randy, making him the number one contender for the Universal championship. I thought Braun was the logical choice to win the battle royal considering that he other than Big E and Roman Reigns, actually won a match and having him win this match will build something he hasn't had in a year or so and that's momentum. 

Am I ready for a Wrestlemania 35 rematch? I'm not sure yet but WWE should do something different with the feud. However, Seth Rollins' intensity is a great start to this feud and I hope they in WWE keep that anger from Seth Freaking Rollins. Wanna mention an interesting observation that this is the second year in a row where a Universal championship rematch at Wrestlemania happens at Summerslam. 

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos:

Like: Cedric's upset win, the ending to the Ricochet, Usos, Robert Roode and The Revival match, 24/7 stuff, The promo battle between Becky and Natalya. 

Didn't like: Nitpick but another 2 out of 4 falls match. 

What do you guys think about RAW yesterday? Sound off in the comments below. Follow me on the tweets @omartheplayaguy, follow this very blog for honest pro wrestling opinions and click here to read my Extreme Rules 2019 Review if you haven't Already. Anyway, stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

WWE RAW 22/2/21 | A Late Coherent Review.

I'm happy to say that I liked this week's edition of Monday Night RAW for the most part which is something I've wanted to say for several months.  Images via WWE.com Miz TV. Special Guest, The WWE Championship Around Miz's Waist.  Yes, my friends. The Miz is the WWE champion like it's 2011 all over again.  Miz was glowing about his WWE title win. The Hurt Business in Bobby Lashley and MVP showed up to tell Miz that they mentioned a deal with him regarding a championship opportunity for Bob Lashley.  Bob Lashley then threatened the guy to give him an answer in an hour and that's how the opening segment ends.  This segment does something that is rare in WWE TV and that is, simple storytelling.  Every single time, WWE has overcomplicated their storytelling and it's quite frustrating at times.  It's nice to see a story playing out that uses a minimalistic storytelling device. An hour later, Braun Strowman got into the mix telling Adam Pearce and Shane McMa...

WWE RAW 1/8/22 | A Coherent Review.

With Triple H making some changes for the overall WWE creative process and the end of the "Jeff Jarrett weekend", I gotta make some changes as well (at least for the site) because this is going to be the last solo RAW review since I'm going to combine both of my thoughts on RAW and Smackdown called "the cohesive WWE perspective".  So yeah, how was RAW? Well, It was one of the best episodes I've seen in a VERY long time. I guess no more, " RAW Is as insane and bad as the current season of Riverdale" jokes, right?  Becky remembered who she was during her encounter with Bianca Belair.  That promo ruled and as a guy that didn't like her heel run all that much since her comeback last year, I gotta say that I'm glad she's going back babyface due to the fact that heel Bex was so vanilla for my liking.  After Bianca showed some respect to the man, the new trio known as Io Sky, Dakota Kai and Bayley attacked Becky's injured shoulder.  They a...