Skip to main content

WWE Smackdown Live 26/2/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was overall an okay show that did a decent job at building some intrigued for what is a waste of a PPV in Fastlane. By the way, There's no women's match on this show which is rather odd. 

Opening segment. 

KO sits down at the table and signs the contract to challenge Bryan!

The show kicked off with Shane McMahon, Stephanie McMahon, Rowan and Daniel Bryan all in the ring for a contract signing which is rare that a contract signing actually starts a wrestling show. Shane McMahon then showed Kofi Kingston career highlights which led to Shane McMahon and Stephanie McMahon introducing Kofi Kingston. 

Kofi Kingston cut a promo saying that he finally got a one on one WWE championship match after 11 years and he's gonna beat Daniel Bryan for that title. After that, Daniel Bryan signed the contract and Kofi was about to sign the contract but Vince McMahon randomly showed up. 

Vince announced that he's replacing Kofi with the returning Kevin Owens. First, Vince screwed Becky Lynch and now he screwed Kofi Kingston. That's odd because a Daniel Bryan vs Kevin Owens match is a Wrestlemania worthy match. Interesting to see where this goes. 

The Bar vs The Hardy Boyz. 

WWE Photo

Man, Matt Hardy looks great in this match. Anyways, this is a rematch from Extreme Rules 2017 if I'm not mistaken and it was okay. The Hardy Boyz won the match with the Swanton bomb to Sheamus from Jeff Hardy. 

Minutes after that, there was a locker segment between Aleister Black, Ricochet and Lana. Lana said that she doesn't get the hype and the veterans in Rusev and Nakamura will crush both of them. Aleister Black replied by saying that Rusev and Nakamura will fade to Black.  

R Truth vs Andrade vs Rey Mysterio for the United States championship. 

WWE Photo

R Truth, I thought you went miss or something? Nevertheless, a decent match but Andrade should've won that championship considering that R Truth is not doing ANYTHING with the US title. After the match, Rey was going for the 619 but Andrade retreated. 

Charlotte Talks About Becky's Arrest And Ronda Rousey Putting The Belt On The Middle Of The Ring. 

The Queen says Mr. McMahon was right about how she stays in her lane and always delivers, unlike Becky Lynch.

Charlotte Flair cut a good promo in that ring as usual. The queen calls Becky Lynch a criminal and calls Ronda Rousey a quitter. She also said that both women are scared of Charlotte and she showed footage from RAW back in November when Ronda Rousey was cutting a promo saying that she's not gonna quit basically. She ends the promo by saying that Charlotte will be on RAW next week so that Vince McMahon will crown her as the new RAW women's champion. Really like this segment and Charlotte might be other than Tommaso Ciampa, the best heel in all of WWE. 

Aleister Black and Ricochet vs Rusev and Shinsuke Nakamura. 

WWE Photo

Another good showcase for both Aleister Black and Ricochet in what it was overall a decent match. The team of Aleister Black and Ricochet won the match with the black mass to Nakamura. 

Then, Kayla Braxton interviewed AJ Styles about how he's ready for another challenge in the house that AJ Styles built. After that, Randy Orton showed up and said: “The house that AJ Styles what?” Is that WWE’S attempt at comedy because I'm confused about what I just saw. 

Kofi Kingston and Kevin Owens vs Daniel Bryan and Rowan. 

WWE Photo

Started slow but picked up really nicely. The team of Kevin Owens and Kofi Kingston won the match with the stunner from Owens to Daniel Bryan. After the match, it seemed like Kofi is okay with Owens taking his spot which I don't get if that's the case but will see what happens. 

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos: 

Like: Charlotte segment. 

Didn't like: R Truth's win. 

Sound off in the comments on what do you think about Smackdown Live this week? Follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions and stay safe smarks. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

The 5 News Week Look-Back: Batista's Match With Triple H At Wrestlemania 35 Supposed To Be A Hell In A Cell!?, A Look Back At Eric Bischoff's Role As Executive Director.

Hello, my fellow wrestling fans and welcome to the 5 News Week where I usually report on the 5 major or minor news of the week but I'm not doing that here if you can't tell from the graphic I made (you're welcome, by the way).  But Rather, all throughout December, I'm going to look back at some of the news that came out in 2019. The start of a new decade is going to be upon us in the coming days and that can be exciting especially for the future of the wrestling business as a whole. I hope you guys celebrate the new year's day and of course, drink responsibly.  Fans Frustration Over The Booking Of The Main Roster Women's Division.  I wrote an article earlier this year about why women's wrestling in world wrestling entertainment of the year 2018 was great (which you can click here to read the whole thing).  However, it seems like the year after (2019) was the exact opposite. Now, they did rebound the quality of storytelling in the women's div...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...