Skip to main content

WWE RAW 16/8/21 | A Coherent Review.

Another week, another L for the red brand in terms of overall quality. And they do not need that L considering that it's the final show before this year's SummerSlam event. 

Images via WWE.com 

Randal Keith Orton And Riddal Are Back Together? 


Randy explained his actions last week, stating that he simply doesn't owe anyone an explanation because he's Randy Orton (okay?). 

Out came the most obnoxious person in Riddle and he wanted RKBRO to reunite.

Styles showed up to hype up his big goof in Omos. 

That RKO last week was as confusing as the thought of Jupiter Ascending being a "good movie". 
 
The question is, did the band realigned themselves once again? 

The answer was a soft no if you stopped watching the show after the Riddle and AJ Styles match (I don't blame ANYONE that stops watching Monday Night RAW). 

However, that became a solid yes after Randy's bout with Omos. Am I the only one that feels kinda mid about this? 

It's not terrible by all means and I appreciate WWE doing something different within a tag team division that severely lacks saturation. 

It's just that I don't have an emotional attachment to this storyline. 

Nikki A.S.H vs Rhea Ripley.


Speaking of things that I have 0 emotional attachment with. 

You thought that Nikki will walk out of the episode with a win? Pfft, silly you.  

After the champ got pinned once again, the person that is almost a superhero (keyword, almost because unlike her run,  superheroes actually win at the end) took her frustrations on Charlotte Flair sitting on commentary which led to Rhea Ripley joining in the minimal beatdown that Flair.

A tag team match took place towards the end of the episode between Nikki A.S.H, Rhea Ripley, Nia Jax And Charlotte Flair. 

The heel personas won here and I couldn't care less.   

Drew McIntyre vs Veer and Shanky. 


Ahh. Would you look at that? Another rivalry that I give no microtransactions about. 

It's a shame that I feel this way due to the fact that they have a history together and they could've told a very compelling narrative but I feel like I'm asking too much from WWE creative. 

After Drew's victory, he promises that at slamming of summer, he'll beat him up. Great! 

The First-Ever Moist TV. 


Morrison wasn't too happy with Miz's recovery from his injury and asked him whether he faked it or not. 

Miz answered, saying that he's not lying and that he wouldn't use Morrison (the year 2009 says otherwise). 

Damian Priest called out Miz for not being honest with his injury. So, Morrison shifted gears and was like, "let's see Miz compete against Damian Priest". 


The match happened and of course, the big man won. Morrison left Miz behind during the whole but they forgave each other (will see about that) in a backstage segment that involved the New Day promoting their shirt in the background. 

The show teased a split between those two guys dating back a few weeks after this year's Wrestlemania but Miz's ACL injury kinda delayed those plans based on my sheer speculation. 

While I prefer a healthy tag team division (because they got none currently), this is a break-up that I wouldn't rant over. 

Oh, and Sheamus wanted to destroy Damian Priest after that match took place. Cool. 

Mansoor vs Mace. 


The match kinda surprised me. It was a good effort. Mansoor is so f**king good and I'm glad that they're doing something interesting and noteworthy with the guy. The babyface picked up the victory. 

Jeff Hardy vs Karrion Kross. 


This is the third match between those two men. A trilogy so bad, it makes the Meet The Parents movies look like a damn Oscar contender in comparison. 


Doudrop failed in her task to steal the doll from Alexa Bliss and the consequence of it was a slap from Eva Marie. 

Speaking of failed tasks, R Truth and Akira Tozawa have unsuccessfully grabbed the 24/7 championship from Reggie. My boredom would like to tell you that WWE should retire the belt already! 

The final in-ring segment of the night was when Goldberg talked a lot more than usual to which he speared Bobby Lashley. If it doesn't end with Lashley retaining the championship at SummerSlam then to quote Stephen A Smith, "we don't care". 

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos.  

Like: Mansoor vs Mace. 

Didn't like: Pretty much everything else. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

WWE RAW 22/2/21 | A Late Coherent Review.

I'm happy to say that I liked this week's edition of Monday Night RAW for the most part which is something I've wanted to say for several months.  Images via WWE.com Miz TV. Special Guest, The WWE Championship Around Miz's Waist.  Yes, my friends. The Miz is the WWE champion like it's 2011 all over again.  Miz was glowing about his WWE title win. The Hurt Business in Bobby Lashley and MVP showed up to tell Miz that they mentioned a deal with him regarding a championship opportunity for Bob Lashley.  Bob Lashley then threatened the guy to give him an answer in an hour and that's how the opening segment ends.  This segment does something that is rare in WWE TV and that is, simple storytelling.  Every single time, WWE has overcomplicated their storytelling and it's quite frustrating at times.  It's nice to see a story playing out that uses a minimalistic storytelling device. An hour later, Braun Strowman got into the mix telling Adam Pearce and Shane McMa...

WWE RAW 1/8/22 | A Coherent Review.

With Triple H making some changes for the overall WWE creative process and the end of the "Jeff Jarrett weekend", I gotta make some changes as well (at least for the site) because this is going to be the last solo RAW review since I'm going to combine both of my thoughts on RAW and Smackdown called "the cohesive WWE perspective".  So yeah, how was RAW? Well, It was one of the best episodes I've seen in a VERY long time. I guess no more, " RAW Is as insane and bad as the current season of Riverdale" jokes, right?  Becky remembered who she was during her encounter with Bianca Belair.  That promo ruled and as a guy that didn't like her heel run all that much since her comeback last year, I gotta say that I'm glad she's going back babyface due to the fact that heel Bex was so vanilla for my liking.  After Bianca showed some respect to the man, the new trio known as Io Sky, Dakota Kai and Bayley attacked Becky's injured shoulder.  They a...