Skip to main content

WWE Smackdown 27/3/20 | My Coherent Review.

via WWE
A good episode of Friday night Smackdown that did a good job on furthering the storylines from the blue brand side of things for Wrestlemania. 

Look, I've expressed my displeasure for Smackdown whether it's a series of lame jokes of mine or just stating the reason why for months. 

However, I feel like Smackdown has improved with baby steps as of late. Maybe that's due to Wrestlemania being right around the corner but whatever the creative team is doing, they should do it more. 

Bayley And Sasha Address The SmackDown Women's Championship Match At Wrestlemania. 

WWE Photo

The SmackDown women's champion, Bayley and Sasha Banks talked about how their road to Wrestlemania is a nightmare as they're facing each other among other opponents they have to deal with.  

Out came Lacey Evans then Naomi and they basically said that they'll become Smackdown women's champion. 

Tamina showed up and she said that action speaks louder than words and that line was obviously led to a brawl between all of those women. 

A meh opening segment but I do like the fact that they're hiding Tamina's weakness which is her mic skills and instead uses her deminer aka her strength. 

That's something I would like to see that tactic being utilized in other performers because with Ricochet's awful dialogue expressions, he sure does need that crap to be hidden.  

Drew Gulak vs Shinsuke Nakamura. If Gulak Wins Then Daniel Bryan Gets To Face Sami Zayn For The Intercontinental Championship At Wrestlemania. 

WWE Photo

That match ended with a distraction but the difference is it came from the babyface side ala Daniel Bryan. Gulak won with a roll-up after he "reversed" the Kinshasa from Shinsuke. Meanwhile, backstage, Otis wanted to kill Dolph rightfully so, and the big man got his wish because Ziggler made a match between himself and Otis at Wrestlemania. 

WWE Photo

Also, something that happened on this program was an Elias concert, making fun of King Corbin edition. Corbin didn't like that by attacking him from behind with even him throwing Elias down the stage floor which the way it was executed looked like something out of a cheesy Sam Raimi horror movie but I didn't mind it.  

Asuka vs Alexa Bliss. 

WWE Photo

This is one of the best Alexa Bliss matches I've seen in quite some time. It was also the most brutal match I've seen from an Alexa Bliss which defeats the argument of people calling her a "lazy worker"

Bliss actually won the match with a DDT. I'm not sure if I'm all for a possible Bliss and Nikki vs Kabuki Warriors match at Wrestlemania but hopefully, it's not bad. 

This ain't an empty crowd edition of RAW or Smackdown without a replay of some old match and this week was a match between Roman Reigns and Triple H for the WWE championship at Wrestlemania 32 and it was a bad match then and it's definitely a bad match now. 

As a matter of opinion, the entire show was bad. I will say regarding the main event, I've not seen Triple H look physically good like ever. Speaking of Roman Reigns, WWE hasn't officially confirmed in the Reigns story as they're promoting a face to face confrontation between the big dog and Goldberg next week. Will see how WWE works around that. 

We went from a New Day mentioning in a promo about how they're going to win the number one contenders match to Dolph Ziggler talking to Mandy Rose to a Firefly funhouse segment where Bray Wyatt made a shake with interesting ingredients such as disappointment, rage. 

This has to be a tease of a new WWE cookbook, is it? Also, Wyatt challenged John Cena to a firefly funhouse match which is obviously taped so will see how it plays out. 

The New Day vs The Usos. Winner Faces The Miz And John Morrison For The SmackDown Tag Team Championship At Wrestlemania. 

WWE Photo

An okay main event match. After the tag team champs were singing "Miz and Morrison. Hey, hey. Hoo, hoo", Kingston made Morrison fall on the announce table to which Miz tried to confront Kofi but Miz ate a suicide dive from Jey Uso. 

As a result, Miz and Morrison attacked both competitors in the match, ending the encounter with a DQ. 

Micheal Cole then announced by getting a word from the official stating The Miz and John Morrison will defend their titles against both Usos and New Day in a *Dario Cueto voice* LADDER MATCH!! 

I mean, The tag team title Elimination Chamber match was fun so what could go wrong with this one? 

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos.

Like: Asuka vs Alexa Bliss, WWE playing with the performer's strength for instance not having Tamina cut a promo. 

Didn't like: Probably witnessing the Roman Reigns vs Triple H match again. 

I know I don't post reviews in this particular time but I've got some free time so why not right? 

That is all folks. Sound off in the comments below on what do you think about this week's episode of Friday Night Smackdown? Follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions as well my twitter @omartheplayaguy. Anywho, stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...