Skip to main content

WWE RAW 30/3/20 | A Coherent Review.

God damn, what a night. WWE has from my perspective, killed all opinions of needing a promo with a live audience. By the way, sorry for the lack of pictures. WWE has a limit amount of them on its website. 

Now, you're hearing from the commentary that Wrestlemania 36 is available for PPV pre-order which WWE hasn't acknowledged on television regarding buying their shows on PPV like ever. 

I just got a notification from the folks over at Fite TV that you can buy the show on their platform which is huge for Fite TV. Did I do that? Hell Nah because I got the network duh? 

The Undertaker Sends Styles An Ultimatum. 

The show started off with the most real I've seen from the Deadman since the Big Evil/American Badass days. He tells Styles that for a small man named Allen Jones, he sure does have a big mouth. 

Taker also mentioned that AJ can't last with the likes of Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock, Shawn Michaels, Triple H, Booker T, Edge and many of the goats of the business. 

He proceeded to insult Styles' clash and says that his wife does the faith breaker better than he ever did. The phenom ends the promo telling his Wrestlemania opponent that he'll rest in peace. 

While this promo had obvious inspirations from Taker's more real like characters like his biker days from the early 2000s, it didn't fully kill his deadman persona. 

WWE hit the sweet spot with this fantastic promo. Definitely one of Undertaker's best promo work in ages. 



WWE Photo


After that, Becky Lynch showed up to the stage area and introduced the match she won her RAW women's championship from before she was choked out by Shayna Baszler. 

In other words, another old match in the Wrestlemania 35 main event between Lynch, Ronda Rousey and Charlotte Flair for both the red and the blue women's belts. 

That match gave me the motivation to read my Wrestlemania 35 aka my first Wrestlemania review and I said regarding the main event match that I liked it and I still feel this way. It's not amazing but not terrible as some fans believe. 

That promo from Becky about if Shayna loses then she'll be put in Ronda's shadow was so good. Becky has been on fire with her promos, especially in this feud. 

Aleister Black vs Local Jobber. 

WWE Photo
What do you expect from a title with the word "local jobber"? Black mass from Aleister Black. 

The Street Profits And Kevin Owens vs Andrade, Angel Garza And Seth Rollins. 

WWE Photo


Garza and Andrade's business associate Zelina Vega, said that Andrade "broke his ribs" and isn't medically clear to wrestle so she instead brought up NXT's Austin Theory in to replace Andrade and that wouldn't be the last time Austin teams up with Angel Garza because he's going to be in the RAW tag team title match. The match itself was aight. 

Montez Ford took an awful looking suicide dive barely touching Austin Theory. Maybe Austin took Zack Sabre Jr's advice and moved from a dive? 

The babyface team wins with a stunner from Kevin Owens to Garza but was then led to a stomp from Seth Rollins. 


WWE Photo


Owens cut a promo basically saying that Seth Rollins' claim of the performance centre being built out of Rollins' hard work proves Owens right which is that Rollins is delusional and tells Rollins that he'll burn Seth down. 

I love when the good guy recognizes the bad guy's weakness. A rare thing to see from WWE. Great stuff from Owens. 

Edge, in a passionate promo, says that he makes Randy Orton better because he knows without him, Randy Orton is just there and he will take Randy Orton down at Wrestlemania. 

What a great transition. First a great promo from Kevin Owens and now another superb mic work from Edge. The final NXT women’s championship build before Wrestlemania comes from a seek kick from Charlotte to Rhea Ripley outside the performance centre. Meh. 

Asuka vs Kayden Carter. 

Kayden Carter has an opportunity to not only defeat Asuka but also win the number one contenders ladder match spot via a battle royal this coming Wednesday. Did she do that? 

That battle royal match is in a few days so I obviously do not know if that will happen (spoilers, it wouldn't) but she definitely didn't fulfil the first task which is defeating Asuka. I do not know a lick of Japanese but I’m assuming that Asuka’s promo was great also. 

Another old match of the evening comes from Brock's second WWE Title defence since he quickly defeated Kofi Kingston on the premiere episode of Friday Night Smackdown. 

That title match happened at Survivor Series 2019 against Rey Mysterio which was a good match I must say. Speaking of Brock Lesnar, the final segment for this week's Monday Night RAW before Wrestlemania was a promo courtesy of Brock's advocate, Paul Heyman. 

Heyman verbally put over Drew McIntyre from being special but The Rock, Hulk Hogan, UFC's Randy Couture, The Undertaker were all special and Brock Lesnar decimated all of them and the same will happen for Drew McIntyre at Wrestlemania. What do you expect from Paul Heyman? A great promo that is. 

So,  to recap for all of you slow mofos. 

Like: Every single promo of the night. 

Didn't like: Nothing really.  


What do you guys think about this episode of RAW? Sound off in the comments below. Follow me on the tweets @omartheplayaguy and follow this very blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyway, stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...