Skip to main content

The 5 News Week: WWE Ditching Full Script Promos? NXT Superstars Still Expected To Move To The Main Roster?

Hello, my fellow wrestling fans and welcome to the 5 news week. The post where I report 5 major or minor news of the week that I don't have time to do it separately. Without further ado, here are the 5 news week. 

NXT Superstars Still Expected To Move To The Main Roster?

Although the yellow brand is much better in terms of how they approach storylines subjectively speaking, of course, it is still a developmental brand after all even though it doesn't feel like so. 

I'm sure you guys have heard of reports (more specifically from post wrestling) that a draft is coming next month and the NXT Superstars will still be called on either RAW or Smackdown hence not being treated as a third equal brand. 

That is all coming from Dave Meltzer and The Wrestling Observer Newsletter. I really enjoyed when the main roster guys like Tyson Kidd in 2014, Brezzago, Apollo Crews for a bit move to NXT and those moves makes that brand more legit but I and you guys should keep in mind that this is all speculations at the end of the day so I'm keeping my fingers crossed. 

WWE Ditching Full Script Promos? 

And no, that is not an oxymoron. In that same Wrestling Observer, Dave basically stated that the promos segments on the recent RAW and Smackdown episode weren't written word for word but rather replacing scripts with bullet points. 

Notable examples mentioned were Bayley, Sasha Banks and Rey Mysterio. Meltzer also mentioned that there's "an internal movement" in which that the promos would have more "freedom". 

I know this is an unpopular perspective but I actually don't mind scripted promos as long as the person writing the promos actually knows the strengths and weaknesses of how a particular wrestler cuts a promo. I will say this, it's a change that I and other fans will definitely embrace. 

WWE Brings On A Senior Director For Their Upcoming Podcast Network. 

So a few weeks back, WWE has announced that they're working on a podcast network which was first reported by The Hollywood Reporter and the company hired a very qualified one. 

From PWInsider and Mike Johnson, WWE has hired Dara Frank as their Senior Director and has been working with Viacom since 2007 as a dept. assistant, standards and practices and went on to oversee the production, strategy, marketing and sales as a senior director, podcasting, radio and records from since February 2016 bringing in Viacom millions of dollars thanks to her eye of talent and her relationships with advertisers.

Her body of work also includes being a director enterprise on Comedy Central records and radio and started her career as a production assistant on ABC News. By the way, I read the Fightful Wrestling Weekly article that WWE is reaching out other talents, writers and others so that's very interesting to watch out for. 

And yes, I did gather some of the information from her LinkedIn profile but based on her resume, I certainly believe it's a great hire. I'm a big audio connoisseur so I'm definitely be looking at their podcast network once it's available for the masses. 

Ric Flair Plans On "Taking Down Nike" In His Deal With Adidas. 

Ric Flair was asked about his deal with Adidas by TMZ in Los Angeles. Here's what the nature boy has to say about it (transcript via TMZ):

"Ready for the good news? Adidas thinks I’m ‘The Man.’ I signed a deal with them, and we’re fixin’ to make Nike the 2nd brand. It’s not gonna be Air Jordan anymore, it’s gonna be Air Flair, and I can’t jump." It's gonna be Adidas, Woooooooo!!!"

Take that as you will. 

Walter On Brock Lesnar Being A Smart Performer. 

Walter has recently given the fans a match of the year candidate with Tyler Bate for the UK title at Takeover Cardiff (which you can click here to read my thoughts on the whole show) and also gave his opinion about The Beast Incarnate in an interview with SPORTbible:

“I think right now there’s no smarter professional wrestler than Brock Lesnar at the moment. I’m aware of the — I don’t know — the negative reactions he gets by the fans, but if I ever end up in that position in my career, I would be very thankful [laughs]. For sure, 100 percent. I think Brock is amazing and I would love to do that.”

What do you think about the news I just reported and follow me on the tweets @omartheplayaguy. Anyways, stay safe smarks.

Additional sources: https://www.wrestlinginc.com/news/2019/09/wwe-nxt-main-roster-call-ups-to-continue-after-usa-premiere-659326/, 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

WWE RAW 22/2/21 | A Late Coherent Review.

I'm happy to say that I liked this week's edition of Monday Night RAW for the most part which is something I've wanted to say for several months.  Images via WWE.com Miz TV. Special Guest, The WWE Championship Around Miz's Waist.  Yes, my friends. The Miz is the WWE champion like it's 2011 all over again.  Miz was glowing about his WWE title win. The Hurt Business in Bobby Lashley and MVP showed up to tell Miz that they mentioned a deal with him regarding a championship opportunity for Bob Lashley.  Bob Lashley then threatened the guy to give him an answer in an hour and that's how the opening segment ends.  This segment does something that is rare in WWE TV and that is, simple storytelling.  Every single time, WWE has overcomplicated their storytelling and it's quite frustrating at times.  It's nice to see a story playing out that uses a minimalistic storytelling device. An hour later, Braun Strowman got into the mix telling Adam Pearce and Shane McMa...

WWE RAW 1/8/22 | A Coherent Review.

With Triple H making some changes for the overall WWE creative process and the end of the "Jeff Jarrett weekend", I gotta make some changes as well (at least for the site) because this is going to be the last solo RAW review since I'm going to combine both of my thoughts on RAW and Smackdown called "the cohesive WWE perspective".  So yeah, how was RAW? Well, It was one of the best episodes I've seen in a VERY long time. I guess no more, " RAW Is as insane and bad as the current season of Riverdale" jokes, right?  Becky remembered who she was during her encounter with Bianca Belair.  That promo ruled and as a guy that didn't like her heel run all that much since her comeback last year, I gotta say that I'm glad she's going back babyface due to the fact that heel Bex was so vanilla for my liking.  After Bianca showed some respect to the man, the new trio known as Io Sky, Dakota Kai and Bayley attacked Becky's injured shoulder.  They a...