Skip to main content

WWE Smackdown Live 14/8/18 | My Coherent Review.

This has been a good week for WWE programming. Smackdown Live was a decent show that had a consistent build towards summerslam. Why you ask? Well i'm gonna give you what's good and what's ok and the reason being is because the show was passable for the most part and none of the segments and matches warrant a bad rating in my opinion. Now, on with the review

WHAT'S GOOD

Samoa joe's manipulation 

Image result for samoa joe
I thought this whole manipulation by samoa joe was brilliant in my opinion and the best part about this is that samoa joe made you or this case me, believe for a split second that AJ care about his championship more than his family. Now obviously he isn't like that in real life but adding their history together *cough, cough TNA* and their real life friendship makes this storyline a hell a lot better and one of the reasons why i'm looking forward to that match at summerslam. 

The history of the Daniel Bryan and The Miz Feud

The year 2010. The year that i got my first phone, the year that drake better find your loving. But, It's also the year where daniel bryan first had his taste in the WWE banner and became the miz's rookie in NXT and the rest they say is history. I thought that this entire promo package was fantastic and it adds to the overall intriguing feud. Great stuff by WWE. 

WHAT'S OK 


the opening segment and match
WWE Photo
The opening segment was ok but the interesting thing about that segement was Charlotte calling carmella "a diva" and it has some truth to that statement considering that carmella's in ring work is poor. 

By the way, this coming from someone who likes carmella as a heel. Or maybe, creative is booking carmella to not take high/big bums and dress like the divas era from before to psychologically manipulate the fans into hating her because of it. I'm by all means, not saying that's what WWE is doing but now that i'm thinking but it, i highly doubt that they're doing this. 

The match was fine. The team of Charlotte and becky lynch wins. 

Bludgeon Brothers vs local jobbers


Image result for The Bludgeon Brothers

This was a squash match. Bludgeon brothers wins.

New Day vs Sanity

Image result for The New Day
Forgettable match in my opinion and i could see why WWE pull the trigger for sanity to lose considering that the new day has to look good going into summerslam. New day wins with the midnight hour. 


Aiden English vs Andrade "Cien" Almas

WWE Photo

Similar to the bludgoen brother match, this was a squash match. Andrade wins with the hammerlock DDT. After the match, both rusev and lana walks out and basically stated that they're gonna beat andrade and zelina on you guess it, RUSEV DAEEEEEEEEEEEEEY. I for one, think that their match at summerslam is a filler for this aiden english/rusev/lana storyline.  


Jeff Hardy Vs Shelton Benjamin 

WWE Photo
Meh match. Jeff hardy wins with a splash. Not a top rope splash but a regular splash with was an odd finish in my opinion

Sound off in the comments on what do you think about Smackdown live this week and stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

WWE RAW 22/2/21 | A Late Coherent Review.

I'm happy to say that I liked this week's edition of Monday Night RAW for the most part which is something I've wanted to say for several months.  Images via WWE.com Miz TV. Special Guest, The WWE Championship Around Miz's Waist.  Yes, my friends. The Miz is the WWE champion like it's 2011 all over again.  Miz was glowing about his WWE title win. The Hurt Business in Bobby Lashley and MVP showed up to tell Miz that they mentioned a deal with him regarding a championship opportunity for Bob Lashley.  Bob Lashley then threatened the guy to give him an answer in an hour and that's how the opening segment ends.  This segment does something that is rare in WWE TV and that is, simple storytelling.  Every single time, WWE has overcomplicated their storytelling and it's quite frustrating at times.  It's nice to see a story playing out that uses a minimalistic storytelling device. An hour later, Braun Strowman got into the mix telling Adam Pearce and Shane McMa...

WWE RAW 1/8/22 | A Coherent Review.

With Triple H making some changes for the overall WWE creative process and the end of the "Jeff Jarrett weekend", I gotta make some changes as well (at least for the site) because this is going to be the last solo RAW review since I'm going to combine both of my thoughts on RAW and Smackdown called "the cohesive WWE perspective".  So yeah, how was RAW? Well, It was one of the best episodes I've seen in a VERY long time. I guess no more, " RAW Is as insane and bad as the current season of Riverdale" jokes, right?  Becky remembered who she was during her encounter with Bianca Belair.  That promo ruled and as a guy that didn't like her heel run all that much since her comeback last year, I gotta say that I'm glad she's going back babyface due to the fact that heel Bex was so vanilla for my liking.  After Bianca showed some respect to the man, the new trio known as Io Sky, Dakota Kai and Bayley attacked Becky's injured shoulder.  They a...