Skip to main content

WWE Smackdown 1/4/22 | A Coherent Review

We're just hours before Wrestlemania aka the show that I had the same amount of anticipation as the new Morbius movie. 

How did the blue brand pull off this week? Well, more people on my Twitter timeline (@omartheplayaguy press z follow me) were talking about Samoa Joe's return at ROH's latest PPV than this episode so that should tell you everything. 

Andre The Giant Memorial Battle Royal. 

For the second time in a row, the battle royal happened on an episode of Smackdown and not on the pre-show, which I'm happy about because the last thing I wanna see is watching a meaningless match at 5 am in the morning. Anything that saves time is an automatic positive in my book. 

Midcap Moss won the entire thing. I don't even remember who won last year's match so I'll probably forget about it in a day or so. 

Speaking of which, later in the show, Drew McIntyre showed up during the Happy Corbin talk show segment and proceeded to destroy everything on sight using his sword. 

Coooooooool. 

Ricochet vs Angel vs Humberto For The Intercontinental Championship. 

A solid match for what it was. The finish though was fantastic. Ricochet delivered the 630 to Angel followed by the recoil to Humberto for the victory. 

Sasha Banks And Naomi vs Queen Zelina Vega And Carmella. 

Aka a match that was originally planned for Wrestlemania. Seeing Liv Morgan and Rhea Ripley on the outside, you know where this leads but to my surprise, no such brawl occurred. 

Two former members of team BAD defeated the tag champs with a quick moonsault to Vega. 

Rick Boogs vs Jimmy Uso. 

This was aight. Austin Theory's shenanigans on to Pat McAfee (that had Finn Balor eventually hit Austin *Michael Cole's voice*from behind) is what led to this match ending via a DQ. 

And you know what happened after that? An impromptu 6 man tag team match, Playas. Nothing screams WWE's writing quite like this. 

The bad guys won the bout with the Ataxia to Finnie Baylord. 

Austin Theory pinned both the intercontinental champion and the United States champion. Yea, not good if you want to build a healthy midcard act.  

Charlotte Flair Was Like, "Ronda, You Think You Can Rip My Arm Off!? Well, That's F**king Bullsh*t M8 Because I'll Destroy You Like Every Critic Review Of Morbius!" 

After those words were uttered, don't you think she has a better chance of retaining the title because that headline certainly convinced ya boy. I mean come on, it's not that she's never said the word "mate", am I right!? 

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos. 

Like: Ricochet vs Angel vs Humberto and the ending. 

Didn't like: the US champion taking Ls like the IC champ on RAW

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...