Skip to main content

WWE Smackdown 19/2/21 | A Coherent Review.

Have you ever watched a show that is 2 hours long but it feels like 20 minutes? 

Because that is how I felt when I watched this week's episode of Smackdown. What a good 2 hours of programming. 

Images via WWE.com

Does Edge Finally Choose His Championship Match At Wrestlemania!? 

Well, he was about to until Roman Reigns showed and Edge talked some sense into the tribal chief. 

Out came Sami Zayn and he was talking a LOT about being THE main event and the response he got was a superkick from Jey Uso. 

The segment wasn't really noteworthy other than the fact that Edge is definitely THE opponent for Roman Reigns at Wrestlemania  (no f'ing sh*t, Omar).

Apollo Crews vs Shinsuke Nakamura. 

Apollo Crews and Shinsuke Nakamura? Now, THAT is a match right there. 

Apollo was talking mad sh*t about how he's from Nigerian royalty and if Big E spoke to him like that to his family, his throat is cut.  

Shinsuke won but Apollo Crews absolutely had enough. Crews attacked Big E and Nakamura with the steel steps. 

Apollo's motivation made sense. One of his old promos was him talking about how he wants to be a champion. 

In other words, LET'S GOOOOOOOO!  

I wish that Michael Cole would channel his 2003 self and curse at Crews on commentary but I'm just nitpicking. 

Seth Rollins reacted to the scene, saying that it's a tragedy and "sympathies" with Big E because he's been betrayed by every single person on the SmackDown roster. 

Rollins with anger in his eyes, calls Cesaro a "loser" for ruining his homecoming return. 

Look, if this is a way to feud with Cesaro and then have the Swiss himself take the big W at the end, then I'm all for it. 


Kevin Owens and Edge had a verbal interaction regarding Roman Reigns and the universal championship. 

Thumbs up on the staredown alone. 

The Riott Squad vs Natalya And Tamina. 

Thanks to Billie Kay, Natalya and Tamina win the match. 

Kay wanted to join Natalya and Tamina however, Billie Kay took a superkick from Tamina. 

Tamina really showed her athletism that didn't know she had in the first place. 

Haven't seen Tamina looking this good in the ring in like forever now? 


King Corbin was flexing on Edge and Edge basically called Corbin dumb for spending a gazillion dollars on a watch even though he can check the time using his phone. 

The Rated R superstar has a point. 

Sasha Banks, Bianca Belair and Carmella's Sommelier Reggie vs Bayley, Nia Jax And Shayna Baszler. 

How did this match come about? Bayley hosted her "Ding Dong, Hello" talk show with her guests, Nia Jax and Shayna Baszler. 

The tag team champs were talking sh*t about Sasha Banks and Bianca Belair. Reggie showed up and he spoke highly of Banks and Belair (I know that is not what WWE calls the guy but I thought it was funny so Reggie it is).

Speaking of both women, they came out and Reggie had an idea of a match between himself, Banks, Belair, Jax, Baszler and Bayley (segment itself was one big meh). 

And the guy that made the 6 women tag match, led his team to victory, pinning one half of the women's tag team champions, Nia Jax. 

I can tell that the fine folks over at world wrestling entertainment do not give a damn about the women's tag team championship just by that pin alone. 

Cesaro told Edge in a backstage segment that once he wins the Chamber match and the universal championship, he'll see Edge at Wrestlemania. 

Fantastic  (and no, that wasn't my dry sarcasm talking). 

Rey And Dominik Mysterio vs Chad Gable And Otis. 

Did Otis just turn heel because he got himself DQ'ed because of a series of splashes by Otis? 

This is an odd guy for Otis to turn to the dark side of all people. 

Edge told Daniel Bryan in a backstage segment that he was inspired by Bryan to get his wrestling career back (that was a great moment). 

Carmella understood Reggie to which she poured the wine drink on Reggie's face and told him to get him a good one.

Well, damn. 

Daniel Bryan, Kevin Owens And Cesaro vs Sami Zayn, King Corbin And Jey Uso. 

Daniel Bryan And Cesaro played off the history of Kevin Owens' turning on his friends before the match (Bryan even referenced Chris Jericho without mentioning his name which I thought was great).

The good guys won but then, a brawl ensued that led to Roman Reigns hitting the spear on Edge to end this week's episode of Smackdown. 

A decent bout is all I'll say. 

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos. 

Like: Edge backstage interactions, Apollo Crews heel turn, Tamina's in-ring work. 

Didn't like: Reggie pinning the women's tag team champions shows that the division needs a lot of care put into it. 

Sound off in the comments below on what do you think about this week's episode of Friday Night Smackdown? Follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions as well my Twitter @omartheplayaguy and my Facebook page Playard Wrestling Post. As Always, stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...