Skip to main content

WWE Smackdown 26/2/21 | A Coherent Review.


Hey guys. Smackdown was once again, really good. 

Images via WWE.com

Daniel Bryan Confronts Roman Reigns. 


For what it feels like the millionth time, the blue brand started off with Roman Reigns which is admittedly, something that I'll never get tired of. 

Reigns stated that his Elimination Chamber plan was executed perfectly until Edge speared the guy. Reigns warned Edge for some a**whopping. 

Out came Daniel Bryan and he challenged him to a universal championship match fair and square at Fastlane. No shenanigans or a deeply layered plan. 

Bryan's answer was a beatdown from Jey Uso. 


A match that I thought was going to happen at Wrestlemania is happening in 3 weeks and I don't hate it. 

Edge, however, wasn't a big fan of Daniel Bryan challenging Roman Reigns for the title, telling Adam Pearce that he had his chance at the Royal Rumble. 

Rey And Dominik Mysterio vs Otis And Chad Gable. 


This bout was good. I was baffled at this sudden heel turn from Otis last week but this match made him and Gable into a solid tag team. In other words, I like it. 

Alpha Academy wins with a splash from Otis to Rey Mysterio. 

Apollo Crews vs Shinsuke Nakamura. 


I have a positive AND a negative regarding the heel character from Apollo Crews. 

On one hand, Apollo Crews executed the material with perfection. 

The finesse he brought to the persona was a nice change of the Crews we're used to seeing. 

ON THE OTHER HAND, Apollo Crews' character is yet another case of WWE using old tropes of the "foreign ethnic heel" that has aged like any dairy product. 


I've wanted an Apollo Crews heel turn since he showed up to the main roster almost 5 years ago. 

But, they could've gone with a different direction of his persona like how perfect of a wrestler he is, ya know? 

Crews won with the Olympic slam. 

Liv Morgan vs Tamina. 


For the second time in a row, I've been impressed with Tamina's in-ring work. Gotta love people improving at what they do. 

Oh,  and she picked up the victory. 

Did Bianca Belair Choose Asuka Or Sasha Banks As Her Opponent At Wrestlemania? 


The answer was, of course, Sasha Banks.

By the way, I laughed when WWE portrayed Asuka as a dominant champion in a video promo. 

Pure BLACK EXCELLCCCCCCCCCCCCCCE! 

The Street Profits vs King Corbin And Sami Zayn.


Corbin isn't a fan of Sami's documentary crew given that they're getting in the way of Corbin during this tag team encounter. 

And it cost them the match as The Street Profits wins with the frog splash from Montez Ford. Meh.

Seth Rollins And Cesaro As A Duo? 

For the third week in a row, Seth Rollins is rocking with an odd-looking outfit. 

However, I'll take it over the shirt and blazer combo that most game developers wear during press conferences because let's face it, it's generic.  

Cesaro was listening to what Seth Rollins had to say regarding a possible alliance. 

Rollins' response was a Cesaro swing. Like I said in my previous review, 

If this is a way for the Swiss himself to take the big W at the end, then I'm all in on this feud. It's about time that they utilize the guy properly. 

Daniel Bryan vs Jey Uso. If Bryan Wins Then He'll Face Roman Reigns For The Universal Championship At Fastlane. 

The match was decent.  Jey nailed a lot of damage on Daniel Bryan's injured knee throughout the match. 

The match ended via a double count-out and Bryan took a BEATING from Roman Reigns and Jey Uso. 

Bryan is definitely getting that championship opportunity (no f'ing sh*t, Omar). 

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos. 

Like: Apollo Crews' promo work, Tamina's improvement in the ring, Rey And Dominik Mysterio vs Otis And Chad Gable, the main event scene, the Seth and Cesaro feud so far, Bianca Belair's announcement of her facing Banks at Wrestlemania.  

Didn't like: Apollo Crews' persona itself.  

Sound off in the comments below on what do you think about this week's episode of Friday Night Smackdown? Follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions as well my Twitter @omartheplayaguy and my Facebook page Playard Wrestling Post. As Always, stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...