Skip to main content

WWE RAW 22/2/21 | A Late Coherent Review.

I'm happy to say that I liked this week's edition of Monday Night RAW for the most part which is something I've wanted to say for several months. 

Images via WWE.com

Miz TV. Special Guest, The WWE Championship Around Miz's Waist. 

Yes, my friends. The Miz is the WWE champion like it's 2011 all over again. 

Miz was glowing about his WWE title win. The Hurt Business in Bobby Lashley and MVP showed up to tell Miz that they mentioned a deal with him regarding a championship opportunity for Bob Lashley. 

Bob Lashley then threatened the guy to give him an answer in an hour and that's how the opening segment ends. 

This segment does something that is rare in WWE TV and that is, simple storytelling. 

Every single time, WWE has overcomplicated their storytelling and it's quite frustrating at times. 

It's nice to see a story playing out that uses a minimalistic storytelling device.

An hour later, Braun Strowman got into the mix telling Adam Pearce and Shane McMahon that he DEMANDS a WWE championship opportunity. 

Strowman thinks that Shane and Pearce has a vendetta against him which is why they kept him out of the Elimination Chamber WWE title bout because he's a former universal champion 

(Now you see, Strowman excised the rarest form of storytelling in pro wrestling which is "a heel portraying as an idiot"). 

A match was set up between Braun Strowman and Bobby Lashley with the winner facing Miz for the title next week in the main event which was surprisingly good. 

Lashley defeated the big man and he's going on to face Miz next week aka he's winning the championship and I don't mind it AT ALL. 

This entire thing was great besides the Strowman part and speaking of the big man, he's definitely going to face Shane O at Wrestlemania, right? 

Riddle vs John Morrison. 

The match was aight. Riddle picks up the W with the Broderick. 

An ad was aired regarding the eventual debut of the Australian a**kicker herself, Rhea Ripley and all I can say, don't f**k it up, WWE but who am I talking? It's Monday Night RAW. 


24/7 championship shenanigans happened once again on this very episode but this time, I was actually interested. 

R Truth was about to take the championship from Bad Bunny but that didn't happen thanks to Damian Priest's intimidating presence. 

The New Day vs Retribution In Mace And T-Bar 

The match was fine. What happened after it was noteworthy, to say the least. 

Xavier Woods of The New DAY led his partner Kofi Kingston to victory to which the leader of Retribution in Mustafa Ali was angry that Retribution is losing. 

If this is a tease of the split of Retribution then thank GOD! 

It's about time that guys like Dominic Djakovic, Mia Yim are possibly going to do their own thing. 

The Hurt Business In Cedric Alexander And Shelton Benjamin vs Lucha House Party In A Tornado Tag Team Match. 

Another fun encounter between Lucha House Party and The Hurt Business. 

MVP wasn't playing around during commentary bruh. How the match ended was so cool to witness. 

Cedric delivered a knee strike to Lince Dorado followed by the Paydirt from Shelton Benjamin.  

Damian Priest vs Angel Garza. 

Priest pretty much defeated Angel Garza with ease. 

It's sad to see Garza not at least being on the midcard scene fighting against the US champion but it is what it is, I guess? 


In a backstage promo, Randall Keith Orton took aim at Bray Wyatt and Alexa Bliss for his consistent losing streak as of late calling it "distractions". To which a black liquid substance came out of his mouth. 

God damn, Randy! You should get checked out. 

Nia Jax And Shayna Baszler vs Charlotte Flair And Asuka. 

Do I want to see this match? No. Wasn't horrendous? Nah.

Asuka broke her tooth due to a vicious kick from Shayna Baszler and Baszler immediately checked on her which is nice of Baszler. 

I'm hoping Asuka is okay.  

The bad guys took the W by pinning Asuka (Ewwwh) and then, some animosity was built between Charlotte Flair and Asuka.

I would be surprised if this doesn't lead to a RAW women's championship match. 

Oh, and Charlotte Flair basically verbally blasted on her dad Ric Flair. Eh, I've seen worst. 

Jeff Hardy vs Sheamus. 

WHYEEEEEE? Sheamus wins with the brogue kick. 

Naomi And Lana vs Mandy Rose And Dana Brooke. 

The match was fine. Naomi and Lana picked up the victory with a double team facebuster which was impressive. 

AJ Styles vs Ricochet. 

I wish that WWE would've given those guys a LOT more time to work because this was one HELL of a performance by both guys. 

Matches from Ricochet had me questioning, "why is he not in the main event scene right now?" 

AJ Styles, of course, won the bout with the bout. 

Omos picked Ricochet up and threw him with a double chokeslam. 

Shout out to my man Ricochet for that sell. 

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos. 

Like: Ricochet vs AJ Styles, The opening segment, The Hurt Business vs Lucha House Party, I actually paid attention to the 24/7 championship scene, a Retribution break up? 

Didn't like: Asuka taking the pin, Braun Strowman portrayed as an idiot, why Jeff Hardy vs Sheamus?

What do you guys think about this episode of RAW? Sound off in the comments below. Follow me on the tweets @omartheplayaguy and follow this very blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyway, stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...