Skip to main content

WWE Elimination Chamber 2021 | A Coherent Review.

The 2021 edition of the Elimination Chamber show was fine for what it was. 

The only good thing about this show was the opening match and the rest was filled with mid type of matches. 

And of course, I’ve not seen the pre-show match which was a number one contender’s bout for the United States championship. 

Images via WWE.com.

Kevin Owens vs Jey Uso vs Sami Zayn vs King Corbin vs Daniel Bryan vs Cesaro. An Elimination Chamber Match With The Winner Facing Roman Reigns Later In The Night.  


It's really odd that WWE had to air a video about the SmackDown side of the Elimination Chamber AFTER Kevin Owens, Sami Zayn, King and Jey Uso showed up. 

Nevertheless, the match was fanfreakingtastic. 

Cesaro and Daniel Bryan started off the Elimination Chamber Match and to quote Robert Roode's now old theme song, it was GLORIOUS! 

Sami Zayn was talking mad sh*t however, Cesaro shit his a** up with his signature uppercut.
 

King Corbin delivered a chokeslam to Daniel Bryan aka "big man does a chokeslam" cliche. 

Speaking of Corbin, he was eliminated by Cesaro using the sharpshooter. 

Kevin Owens nailed a fantastic looking moonsault from the top of the pod into everybody in the match. 

Oh, and he eliminated Sami Zayn with the stunner. 

But then, Jey Uso immediately eliminated Owens with the splash Samoan style as well as Cesaro mere moments later. 


Despite the bad knee sustained from the match itself, Bryan delivered the running knee to win the match and will face Roman Reigns for the championship later in the night. 

I was hoping for a Cesaro win but we got the leader of the yes movement winning and I don't mind it. 

I'm glad WWE did something different here instead of having Kevin Owens somehow getting a number one contendership for the blue belt again. 

Roman Reigns vs Daniel Bryan For The Universal Championship. 


After Bryan's victory, the universal championship had immediately started off and it immediately ended thanks to Roman's guillotine submission move. 

I mean, why would Daniel last for 10 or so minutes following a fantastic yet brutal Elimination Chamber match? 

Edge speared the hell out of Roman Reigns which means the match between Edge and Roman Reigns at Wrestlemania 37 is official. 

It took Edge an eternity to make his decision but finally, I guess. 


Bad Bunny slapped a pissed off Miz. Why? I don't know but I didn't mind this. 

Riddle vs John Morrison vs Bobby Lashley For The United States Championship. 


Riddle's outfit looked like Ricky Bobby from Talladega Nights. 

This was ALL Bob Lashley for the most part.  

However, Riddle used MVP's crutches to hit Lashley which sent the guy to the outside and immediately delivered the Broderick on Johnny Impact to win the US title for the first time. 

The booking for Riddle within the past few months didn't deserve this win because the dude has been written to look like an absolute dufus. 

But, the way he won it was aight. 

It protected the big man and it was a way to take off the US championship away from him. 

Sasha Banks And Bianca Belair vs Nia Jax And Shayna Baszler For The WWE Women's Tag Team Championship. 


This match honestly didn't need to happen. 

Why's the women's tag team champions always feuding with either the RAW or women's champions? 

The only exception that I didn't mind was the feud with Becky Lynch and Asuka last year due to the fact that Lynch's entire motive was that she hadn't defeated Asuka. 

Thanks to Reggie, Shayna Baszler and Nia Jax retained the titles by pinning the SmackDown women's champion. 

Yes, they pinned the SmackDown's women's championship. Fantastic! Excelsior! 

Drew McIntyre vs Sheamus vs AJ Styles vs Kofi Kingston vs Jeff Hardy vs Randy Orton In An Elimination Chamber Match For The WWE Championship. 


Randy Orton and Jeff Hardy started off the final Elimination Chamber match of the night and Orton was immediately pinned by Kofi Kingston to which Kingston as well as Jeff Hardy, ate an RKO. 

AJ Styles entered the match early because of Styles' associate, Omos. 

Adam Pearce was shouting at Omos, telling the big man to leave the ring. 

Once Sheamus showed up, he and Drew McIntyre beat the hell outta each other for obvious reasons. 


The Dublin brawler eliminated Kofi Kingston with the brogue kick and minutes later, Drew McIntyre eliminated Jeff Hardy with the claymore kick. 

After another brogue kick being executed by Sheamus to Drew McIntyre, Styles hits the phenomenal forearm to eliminate Sheamus. 

Drew McIntyre quickly nailed the Claymore kick from mid-air to AJ and retained the WWE championship. 

A mid-match with a cool finish. 


Bobby Lashley ABSOLUTELY destroyed Drew McIntyre and my goodness, The Miz cashed in the Money In The Bank contract to win the WWE championship for the second time. 

What's that saying again? What's old is indeed new. I don't know how to react to the ending other than HUH? 

He's definitely going to lose the championship before Wrestlemania, right? 


For real though, the ending wasn't terrible or great, it was just surprising that WWE pulled it off. 

It's the closest thing to a Vince Russo unpredictable type of writing in the modern era (wait. Is Vinne Russo writing for WWE again!?).  

So, to recap for all of you slow mofos. 

Like: Smackdown's Elimination Chamber match.

Didn't like: Sasha Banks as women's champion taking the pin. 

Sound off in the comments below on what do you think about Elimination Chamber 2021? Follow me on the tweets @omartheplayaguy and stay safe smarks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

WWE NXT 24/4/19 | My Coherent Review.

This was a meh episode of NXT. If this is the first time that somebody watches NXT with this episode then you'll have a hard time convincing that particular person to watch another episode you know what I mean?  The Forgotten Sons’ Jaxson Ryker vs Humberto Carrillo.  I don't watch 205 live but I'm loving every time Humberto wrestles. The match ended in a double count out because Ryker was beating the crap out of Carrillo until Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan showed up to save the young luchador. Not a fan of the Forgotten Sons but this feud for some reason made me wanna watch those two teams fight and I don't know why exactly.  After that, Adam Cole was asked backstage in a photo shoot about the Roderick Strong vs Johnny Gargano match until Matt Riddle showed up and said that it's his turn which led to Adam Cole leaving the shoot.  Aliyah and Vanessa Bourne vs Candice LeRae and Kacy Catanzaro.  This was okay. The team of Candice LeRae and Kacy Cat...

WWE Smackdown 12/11/21 | A Coherent Review.

While there were a few redeeming qualities about this week's episode of Smackdown, the show as a whole was kinda bleh to me. Images via WWE.com   Chaos Ensued Amongst The SmackDown Women's Survivor Series Team.  Sonya Deville introduced the participants in the women's Smackdown Survivor Series team to which a brawl ensued after Sasha Banks wanted to beat up Shotzi. Naomi came out to even the odds between the heels and the babyfaces in that scene.  And you know what all of that means? A 6 women tag team match, Playas. By far, the most impressive person in this match was Naomi. The finesse she showed with her series of kicks was *chefs kiss*.  Speaking of impressive, the crowd was BEHIND Aliyah and that's cool. Naomi's assistance led to Aliyah pinning Natalya to win the entire match. I said "Naomi's assistance" for a reason because as soon as that victory, Aliyah was taken out of the Survivor Series team.  God damn, Sonya Deville legit hates POCs succeed...

RUMOUR: The Rock Offered 20 Million Dollars By Saudi Arabia To Become Champion?

Now you are probably reading this headline like "what?" but it is a speculation after all. From the dirty sheets , they've been told that Saudi Arabia  offered Dwyane 'The Rock" Johnson 20 million dollars to become WWE champion in an event on April of 2019.  A rumoured match for him is against Roman Reigns for the Universal Title at Wrestlemania which Dwayne was offered 4 million dollars for that match. If he accepts those offers, he would be the first wrestler to make that amount of money.  What do I think of this? I think this is nonsense in my opinion and the reason being is because if you go to his IMDB page, he has 11 I repeat 11 movies to appear on. Four of them are coming in 2019. and two of them are rumoured as of writing this so It's highly unlikely but never say never as they say.   What do you think of this? Sound off in the comments below and follow the blog for honest pro wrestling opinions. Anyways, stay safe smarks.  ...